Autorenworkshop
Photo: privat

Author's workshop: Digital Transformation in the Public Sector: From Design to Impact

Caroline Fischer (University of Potsdam/Chair of Public and Nonprofit Management) organized an author workshop in Potsdam, together with Moritz Heuberger (University of Potsdam/Chair of Political Science, Administration and Organization) and Moreen Heine (University of Lübeck/E-Government and Open Data Ecosystems) as guest editors.

On March 12, 2020, a workshop of our chair took place at the University of Potsdam for potential authors of the dms-Special Issue on the digital transformation of public administration. Considerable technological advances have characterized the administrative modernization of recent years, both in research and in practice. The goals are manifold: digital transformation is associated with increased efficiency and performance, but also with greater transparency, participation, and coopera-tion. There are still many unanswered questions about the actual impact of digital transformation. Empirical e-government research mainly deals with questions of acceptance, adoption and success criteria. Therefore, potential authors were asked for theory-driven empirical contributions dealing with the key question: What impact does digital transformation have on the public sector at the institutional, organizational, and individual level? By digital transformation, we do not address the electronic replication of existing structures and processes. Digital transformation is accompanied by considerable changes in the production of services and the associated interactions. The focus is on the socio-technical nature of digital transformation. Empirical work faces the challenge of differentiating the diverse technologies and application scenarios associated with digital transformation. We would like to encourage authors to focus on fully integrated digital processes and services (transactions), rather than lower levels of maturity.

Numerous national and international researchers were able to participate in the workshop. Prof. Dr. John Siegel participated on behalf of the chair of Public and Nonprofit Management, and presented his joint contribution with Prof. Dr. Isabella Proeller, dealing with the influence of digital transformation on already existing dilemmas of public administration. Andree Pruin from the Chair of Politics and Governance in Germany (University of Potsdam) was also given the opportunity to present his research. However, due to the already imposed restriction, as a result of the corona pandemic, not all potential authors were able to physically attend the workshop. Instead they were connected via video conference, inter alia from Switzerland, Denmark, Portugal or Serbia.

"dms - der moderne staat - Zeitschrift für Public Policy, Recht und Management" is one of the leading German journals regarding research in the field of state, public administration and public policy. It contributes to interdisciplinary discourse and addresses both academia and practice (management in administration and business).

Autorenworkshop
Photo: privat

Autorenworkshop
Foto: privat

Autorenworkshop: Digital Transformation in the Public Sector: From Design to Impact

Caroline Fischer (Universität Potsdam/Lehrstuhl für Public und Nonprofit Management) organisierte gemeinsam mit  Moritz Heuberger  (Universität Potsdam/Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaft, Verwaltung und Organisation) und Moreen Heine (Universität zu Lübeck/E-Government and Open Data Ecosystems) als Gast-Herausgeberin einen Autorenworkshop in Potsdam.

Am 12. März 2020 waren potenzielle Autor*innen dazu eingeladen, an einem Workshop zur Vorbereitung eines interdisziplinären Special Issues zur digitalen Transformation im öffentlichen Sektor (für das deutsche Journal 'dms - der moderne Staat') teilzunehmen. Die Modernisierung des Öffentlichen Sektors ist aus Sicht der Wissenschaft aber auch der Praxis in den zurückliegenden Jahren besonders durch technischen Fortschritt gekennzeichnet. Die Ziele dessen gestalten sich jedoch mannigfaltig: Digitale Transformation wird hierbei mit steigender Effizienz und Performanceverbesserungen, aber auch mit mehr Transparenz, Partizipation und Kooperation assoziiert. Gleichzeitig ist die tatsächliche Wirkung Digitaler Transformation aber nur unzureichend untersucht. Empirische Forschung im Bereich E-Government konzentrierte sich bisher vor allem auf Akzeptanz, Einführung und Erfolgskriterien. Das dms-Special Issue beschäftigt sich daher mit folgender Forschungsfrage: Welchen Einfluss übt Digitale Transformation auf institutionaler, organisationaler und individueller Ebene auf den Öffentlichen Sektor aus? Digitale Transformation beschreibt hierbei nicht die exakte Nachbildung existierender Strukturen und Prozesse. Digitale Transformation wird vielmehr durch umfassende Veränderungsprozesse der Aufgabenerfüllung und dazugehöriger Interaktionen charakterisiert, wobei der Fokus auf der sozio-technischen Natur Digitaler Transformation liegt.

Zahlreiche Forscher*innen national wie international konnten am Workshop mitwirken. Für den Lehrstuhl nahm auch Prof. Dr. John Siegel am Workshop teil und stellte seinen gemeinsamen Beitrag mit Prof. Dr. Isabella Proeller vor, der sich mit dem Einfluss Digitaler Transformation auf bereits existierende Dilemmata öffentlicher Verwaltungen beschäftigt. Weiterhin konnte Andree Pruin vom Lehrstuhl für Politik und Regieren in Deutschland der Universität Potsdam seine Ausführungen präsentieren. Aufgrund der bereits erfolgten Einschränkungen im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie konnten nicht alle potenziellen Autor*innen vor Ort am Workshop teilnehmen, wurden aber per Videokonferenz bspw. aus der Schweiz, Dänemark, Portugal oder Serbien zugeschaltet.

“dms – der moderne staat – Zeitschrift für Public Policy, Recht und Management” ist eines der führenden deutschen Journals zur Forschung im Bereich Staat, öffentlicher Verwaltung und Public Policy, trägt zum interdisziplinären Diskurs bei und wendet sich in gleichem Maße an die Wissenschaft wie an die Praxis (Management in Verwaltung und Unternehmen).

 

Autorenworkshop
Foto: privat