Skip to main content

Strategic Priority Countries and Regions

Skulptur von Katze auf Globus vor Gebäude auf Campus
Photo: Jesko Habert

Current resolutions from the Executive Board regarding Russian universities

The University of Potsdam has suspended its partnerships with Russian  universities until further notice due to Russia's invasion of Ukraine in violation of international law. There is currently no cooperation with these universities (Resolutions from the Excecutive Board of the University of Potsdam).

Concept of the strategic priority countries and regions

The University of Potsdam is intensifying relationships with institutions of higher education that are located primarily in the priority countries/regions identified by the Executive Board. Priority countries/regions consolidate the university's focal areas on international experience and activities with the goal of facilitating international exchange and cooperation and increasing the number of university members who benefit from them. Strategic partnerships are also directly tied to the university's development goals. They offer institutional support in establishing a structured exchange of knowledge and experience, in acquiring third-party funding, and in forming networks.

Countries and regions with which the university is intensifying its cooperation within the framework of the current Internationalization Strategy outside the European University Alliance include: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, France, Israel, Poland, Russia, the Sub-Saharan Africa region, and the United States. In addition, the University of Potsdam maintains strategic partnerships with a selection of specific partner universities. These currently include Macquarie University (Australia) and Tel-Aviv University (Israel).

    Funding of partnerships in priority countries and regions

    The university’s cooperation with priority countries receives special support from university management. Please check our internal calls for proposals “KoUP” (funding of research projects) and “Teaching and Training” (funding of exchanges for teaching staff members and staff in administrative and technical services) regularly.

    Country pages

    You will find concise information on the priority countries and regions on the country pages:

    • Brief information on the country
    • Cooperation focus areas UP
    • Bilateral research initiatives and framework for funding policies
    • Funding programs (national and EU level)
    • Contacts and networks on location

    Argentina   Australia   Brazil   Canada   France  Israel

    Colombia   Poland   Russian Federation   Sub-Saharan Africa    USA

    European University Alliance EDUC

    The EU-funded university alliance “European Digital UniverCity” (EDUC), with the University of Potsdam acting as consortium leader in a consortium with seven other European universities, has been a special strategic focus since 2019. With a focus on digitalization, the alliance creates new spaces for European exchange and joint teaching. In addition to the University of Potsdam, EDUC includes seven other European universities: Masaryk University (Brno, Czech Republic), University of Cagliari (Italy), University Paris Nanterre (France) University of Rennes 1 (France), University of Pécs (Hungary), University Jaume I/Castellón de la Plana  (Spain), and the University of South-Eastern Norway/Kongsberg (Norway).

    For further information on funding and participation opportunities within the European University Alliance, please visit the EDUC project website.

    University Alliance European Digital UniverCity (EDUC)

    Regional Advisor for University Partnerships

    regions Asia, Australia, Europe


    Campus Neues Palais
    Am Neuen Palais 10, 14496 Potsdam
    Haus 8, Raum 1.06

    Regional Advisor for University Partnerships

    regions North America, South America, Subsaharan Africa


    Campus Neues Palais
    Am Neuen Palais 10, 14496 Potsdam
    Haus 8, Raum 0.36