Marcia C. Schenck

Projects

Projects
Photo: Marcia Schenck

Ongoing Projects

Military Cultures of Violence — Illegitimate Military Violence from the Early Modern Period to the Second World War

DFG Research Unit FOR 2898
The research group ‘Military Cultures of Violence’ aims to fill an important gap in scholarship on both military history and research on violence: the introduction of the concept of ‘military cultures of violence’ is designed to allow for the systematic description and explanation of sometimes very divergent acts of violence on the part of regular European armed forces that were viewed in contemporary assessments as illegitimate. Such acts are already documented in numerous individual studies, though as yet neither on this chronological and geographical scale nor as part of a wider collaborative and comparative project. ‘Military cultures of violence’ are defined as the violent practices proceeding from members of a collective military agent of violence belonging to a state or a state-like entity, and the associated interpretative ascriptions and discourses.

The research group investigates how and to what extent specific military cultures of violence developed in the regular armies of the European great powers from the early modern period to the end of the Second World War. In the framework of the sub-projects, an attempt will be made to identify in synchronous and diachronic studies the military cultures of violence subjected – like all cultural phenomena – to continual transformation, map out their determining factors, and classify their significance and their explanatory value for military acts of violence on the part of the respective regular agents of violence. The focus of scholarly interest here is physical violence regarded by contemporaries as illegitimate in times of both war and peace, for which reason the question of the changing yardsticks of legitimacy and illegitimacy of violence and conditions for their transformation will be repeatedly posed.

Six positions for doctoral students and two positions for postdoctoral scholars have been approved. The participating institutions are the Humboldt University Berlin, the Free University Berlin, the Leibniz Centre for Contemporary History Potsdam (ZZF) and the Universities of Göttingen and Bochum. In addition, the Centre for Military History and Social Sciences of the Bundeswehr (ZMSBw) in Potsdam will cooperate with the research group. The speaker of the research group is Professor Sönke Neitzel.

Sub-Project 6:
Military Cultures of Violence among British and Commonwealth Armed Forces in the First and Second World Wars (1914–1945)
Principal investigators: Sönke Neitzel and Marcia C. Schenck
Postdoctoral researcher: Alex Kay
Doctoral candidate: ---

 “Decolonization, Cold War, and the Organization of African Unity: The Creation of the African Refugee Regime in Global Perspective”

The book project examines the role of the Organization of African Unity (OAU) in relation to refugee protection programmes as well as policies and legislation.

There currently exist two legally binding regional refugee protection regimes worldwide, one in Africa, the other in Europe. While the European context has been studied extensively, little is known about the African context. Even less understood are the historical circumstances under which African refugee protection regimes and their specific aspects and policies were formulated, in particular the OAU’s Convention of 1969, which remains the legal cornerstone of refugee protection in Africa today. Starting from this point, the book will examine the debates and projects of the OAU on refugee protection since its inception. It will thereby explore how the OAU perceived the so-called "refugee problem" from the 1960s onwards and how its involvement led to specific projects and policies of relevance until today.

The History Dialogues Project

The History Dialogues Project (HDP) is a so-called "blended-learning" project for applied historical studies that was developed for local students and students with refugee experience. It was developed in cooperation with the Global History Lab at Princeton University and is being carried out together with our partners on four continents, including Africa. The project enables students with different disciplinary backgrounds to formulate and conduct their own historical research projects based on, among other things, oral history interviews and to present and discuss them in an international learning environment.

A video of the project can be found here.

To top

Past Projects

“Socialist Solidarities and Their Afterlives: Histories and Memories of Angolan and Mozambican Migrants in the German Democratic Republic, 1975–2015”

This project examines the state-sponsored educational and labour migration between the People's Republics of Angola and Mozambique and the German Democratic Republic in the late 1970s to 1990s. During the Cold War, the political and economic relations between the "Second World" and the "Third World" opened up migration routes for young African men and women to work and study abroad. The migrants were to acquire technical skills and knowledge in order to contribute to the development of their emerging post-colonial home countries after their return. This project traces Angola and Mozambique's political transitions from decolonization, to socialism and finally to market-based democracies through the lived experiences of these migrants. Based on 268 life history interviews with former workers, students and government officials, triangulated with archival sources, collected during two years of fieldwork in Angola, Mozambique, Portugal, South Africa and Germany, this project centres the memories and life experiences of Angolans and Mozambicans who immigrated to the GDR to work and study

To top

Prof. Dr. Marcia C. Schenck

Projekte

Projekte
Foto: Marcia Schenck

Laufende Projekte

Militärische Gewaltkulturen — Illegitime militärische Gewalt von der Frühen Neuzeit bis zum Zweiten Weltkrieg

DFG Forschergruppe FOR 2898

Die Forschergruppe „Militärischen Gewaltkulturen“ hat den Anspruch, ein wichtiges Desiderat sowohl der Militärgeschichtsschreibung als auch der Gewaltforschung zu schließen: Durch die Einführung des Konzepts der „militärischen Gewaltkulturen“ soll eine Möglichkeit geschaffen werden, das durch zahlreiche Einzelfallstudien dokumentierte, teilweise sehr unterschiedliche Gewalthandeln regulärer Streitkräfte systematisch zu beschreiben und zu erklären. „Militärische Gewaltkulturen“ werden definiert als die von den Angehörigen eines kollektiven militärischen Gewaltakteurs eines Staates oder staatsähnlichen Gebildes ausgehenden Gewaltpraktiken und der zugehörigen Deutungszuweisungen und Diskurse.
Die Forschergruppe untersucht, auf welche Weise und in welchem Ausmaß sich von der Frühen Neuzeit bis hin zur Zeitgeschichte spezifische militärische Gewaltkulturen in den regulären Armeen der europäischen Großmächte ausbildeten. Im Rahmen der Teilprojekte wird versucht, die – wie alle kulturellen Phänomene – fortwährender Veränderung unterworfenen militärischen Gewaltkulturen in synchronen und diachronen Studien zu identifizieren, deren Bestimmungsfaktoren herauszuarbeiten und ihre Bedeutung und ihren Erklärungswert für das militärische Gewalthandeln der jeweiligen regulären Gewaltakteure einzuordnen. Im Mittelpunkt des Forschungsinteresses steht dabei zeitgenössisch als illegitim aufgefasste physische Gewalt sowohl in Kriegs- als auch in Friedenszeiten, weshalb wiederholt die Frage nach den sich wandelnden Maßstäben der Legitimität und Illegitimität von Gewalt und Bedingungen für den Wandel gestellt werden wird. Bewilligt wurden sechs Stellen für Doktoranden und zwei Stellen für Post-Docs. Beteiligt sind die HU, die FU, das ZZ sowie die Universitäten Göttingen und Bochum. Zudem kooperiert die Forschergruppe mit dem ZMSBw in Potsdam. Sprecher ist Prof. Sönke Neitzel.

Teilprojekt 6:
Militärische Gewaltkulturen von britischen und Commonwealth-Streitkräften während des Ersten und Zweiten Weltkrieges (1914–1945)
Teilprojektleiter/in: Sönke Neitzel und Marcia C. Schenck
Postdoc: Alex Kay
Doktorand/in: ---

„Decolonization, Cold War, and the Organization of African Unity: The Creation of the African Refugee Regime in Global Perspective”

Das Buchprojekt untersucht die Rolle der Organisation für Afrikanische Einheit (OAE) in Bezug auf Flüchtlingsschutzprogramme sowie politische und legislative Arbeit.

Heute existieren weltweit zwei rechtsverbindliche regionale Flüchtlingsschutzregime, eines in Afrika, das andere in Europa. Während der europäische Kontext ausführlich behandelt wurde, ist über den afrikanischen Kontext zu wenig bekannt. Noch weniger ist über die historischen Umstände bekannt, unter denen die OAE ihre Flüchtlingskonvention – die OAE-Konvention von 1969, die bis heute den rechtlichen Eckpfeiler des Flüchtlingsschutzes in Afrika bildet – über die spezifischen Aspekte von Flüchtlingsproblemen in Afrika formuliert hat. Hier setzt dieses Projekt an, welches sich mit den Debatten und Projekten der OAE über den Flüchtlingsschutz seit ihrer Entstehung beschäftigt, um Aussagen treffen zu können, darüber wie die OAE das sogenannte „Flüchtlingsproblem“ von den 1960er Jahren an verstand und zu welchen konkreten Projekten ihr Engagement führte.

Das History Dialogues Project

Das History Dialogues Project (HDP) ist ein so genanntes „blended-learning“ Projekt für angewandte Geschichtswissenschaften, das für lokale Studierende und Studierende mit Fluchthintergrund entwickelt wurde. Es entstand im Verbund mit dem Global History Lab der Princeton University und wird mit weiteren Partnern auf vier Kontinenten, darunter in afrikanischen Ländern, durchgeführt. Das Projekt ermöglicht Studierenden mit verschiedenen disziplinären Hintergründen, ihre eigenen historischen Forschungsprojekte basierend u. A. auf Zeitzeugeninterviews zu formulieren, durchzuführen und in einem internationalen Lernumfeld zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren.

Ein Video zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

Nach oben

Abgeschlossene Projekte

„Socialist Solidarities and Their Afterlives: Histories and Memories of Angolan and Mozambican Migrants in the German Democratic Republic, 1975–2015”

Dieses Projekt untersucht die staatlich geförderte Bildungs- und Arbeitsmigration zwischen den Volksrepubliken Angola und Mosambik und der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik in den späten 1970er bis 1990er Jahren. Während des Kalten Krieges eröffneten die politischen und wirtschaftlichen Beziehungen zwischen der „Zweiten Welt" und der „Dritten Welt" jungen Afrikaner_Innen Migrationswege, um im Ausland zu arbeiten und zu studieren. Dabei sollten die Migrant_Innen technische Fähigkeiten und Kenntnisse erwerben, um nach ihrer Rückkehr zur Entwicklung ihrer aufstrebenden postkolonialen Heimatstaaten beizutragen. Dieses Projekt zeichnet die politischen Übergänge Angolas und Mosambiks von der Dekolonisierung über den Sozialismus bis hin zu den marktwirtschaftlichen Demokratien anhand der gelebten Erfahrungen dieser Migrant_Innen nach. Gestützt auf 268 lebensgeschichtliche Interviews mit ehemaligen Arbeiter_Innen, Studierenden und Regierungsvertreter_Innen  und auf Archivquellen, die während zweijähriger Feldforschungsarbeit in Angola, Mosambik, Portugal, Südafrika und Deutschland gesammelt wurden, stehen die Erinnerungen und Lebenserfahrungen von Angolaner_Innen und Mosambikaner_Innen, die zum Arbeiten und Studieren in die DDR einwanderten, im Mittelpunkt dieses Projektes.

Nach oben