Global History

Overwiev
Photo: Marcia Schenck

The Professorship for Global History at the University of Potsdam was established in 2020. It is dedicated to the study of African History as an integral part of Global History.

Global History as a discipline is understood primarily as a history of interdependence. The world we live in is rapidly growing together, English is becoming "Globish" and never before have so many people been able to travel so cheaply and time-effectively. At the same time, however, ethno-nationalism is rising once again, with more and more people trying to distance themselves from this ever more complexifying world. Global History as a discipline reaches beyond Eurocentric, nation-state approaches to history and focusses on processes and ideas of globalization. Through both macro- and micro-level analyses, it reveals, in a nuanced manner, how connections, but also separations, emerge; how continents grow together, but also how processes of alienation set in. Global history enables us to reflect on our role as citizens of the world historically and to position ourselves more consciously in our present.

Africa's rich history bears witness to the great achievements of African societies, as well as to millennia-old links and exchanges with the rest of the world. The continent is in a state of constant change, the causes and consequences of which need to be critically and historically reflected.

Historians of Africa contribute to the development of nuanced historical knowledge about the continent and to uncovering new archival sources and methods. To this end, oral sources and innovative approaches to interpretation are an important part of their methodological repertoire, from which Global Historians can also benefit.

Global History as well as African History can together face their challenges and benefit mutually from the opening of new archives and tackling of methodological problems. The research areas covered by the Professorship for Global History interconnect both disciplines with a focus on the history of migration and refugees, the history of labour, and of education, oral history, and the history of international organizations on the African continent.

Using innovative teaching formats, the Professorship brings together students across countries and continents, with and without refugee experiences in order to both learn and produce Global History through their own research projects.

Newsletter

Global History Mailing list

We’d like to invite you to join the Global History Mailing list.

We use the mailing list to share updates from the Global History Team here in Potsdam, invite you to our events (including new courses, lectures, and seminars), report on the work of our students (such as the ‘Queer Histories of Berlin Seminar‘s’ interactive map of queer histories or the ‚Global History Dialogues Project‘ Blog with Oral History research from all corners of the globe), and keep you posted about the latest developments in the world of Global History (including book releases, public events, and other exciting developments). 

You can subscribe (and unsubscribe) here.

We look forward to welcoming you into Potsdam’s Global History community!

The UP Global History Team

 

 

New Release – The Right to Research

The professorship is thrilled to announce the publication of the edited volume The Right to Research: Historical Narratives by Refugee and Global South Researchers as part of McGill-Queen’s Refugee and Forced Migration Studies Series.  Edited by Marcia Schenck and Kate Reed, it features nine contributions by refugee and host-community researchers from Across Africa, Europe and the Middle East.

Joanna Tague professor at Denison University and author of Displaced Mozambicans in Postcolonial Tanzania: Refugee Power, Mobility, Education, and Rural Development has this to say about the book:

“This ambitious and exciting volume makes a critical intervention in the processes of historical silencing and upsets conventional understandings of historical scholarship. The book reminds us that refugees have not been afforded the right to write history; this is a powerful, poignant, rightfully challenged assertion, and this assertion is timely - if not now, when?”

News

New Release - Monograph

Professor Schenck’s new open access monograph has just been published in Palgrave Macmillan’s Transnational History Series . Titled Remembering African Labor Migration to the Second World: Socialist Mobilities between Angola, Mozambique, and East Germany it draws on more than 260 life history interviews and uncovers complex and contradictory experiences and transnational encounters. What emerges is a series of dualities that exist side by side in the memories of the former labor migrants from Angola and Mozambique: the state and the individual, work and consumption, integration and exclusion, loss and gain, and the past in the past and the past in the present and future. By uncovering these dualities, the book explores the lives of African migrants moving between the Third and Second worlds. Check out the book’s website and download it for free! Stay tuned for the Portuguese translation coming out with Imprensa de Ciências Sociais in 2023.

 

Professor Marcia Schenck and the team of the Professorship of Global History spent the days between August 24th and 26th in the hills of Blankenburg for a writing retreat. Between individual working sessions and collective feedback meetings, the team's members could also enjoy hiking in the surrounding forest or work in the gardens of the Michaelstein Abbey for inspiration.

Prestigious fellowship award to Potsdam Historian Prof. Marcia Schenck from the Historische Kolleg in Munich

https://www.uni-potsdam.de/de/nachrichten/detail/2021-11-01-auszeichnung-fuer-freiraeume-potsdamer-historikerin-prof-marcia-schenck-erhaelt-fellows

Urkunde

Faculty Prize of the Faculty of Arts

Professor Marcia C. Schenck received the faculty award for excellent teaching from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities 2020/21 based on student evaluations.

Cover

Professor Schenck is thrilled to announce the open access publication of the edited volume Navigating Socialist Encounters. Moorings and (Dis)Entanglements between Africa and East Germany during the Cold War!

Edited by Eric Burton, Anne Dietrich, Immanuel Harisch, and Marcia C. Schenck this book firmly anchors African history in global history by illuminating the connections between African and East German actors and institutions during the Cold War. With a particular focus on agency and African influences on the GDR (and vice versa), the volume sheds light on personal and institutional agency, reciprocal cultural transfers, migration, development, and solidarity.

Interested in the history of refuge seeking in Africa? Check out the recent blog series on Histories of Refuge on Africa is a Country. This series is edited by Madina Thiam and includes contributions by Christoph Kalter, Lazlo Passemiers, Rose Jaji, Keren Weitzberg, Alfred Tembo, Jochen Lingelbach, Aderito Machava, Njung George, Anita Vukovic. Professor Schenck’s contribution on Africa’s forgotten refugee convention is already published. This initiative is a result of the Exploratory Workshop “Rethinking Refuge: Processes of Refuge Seeking”, which Prof. Schenck organized at the Forum for Transregional Studies in Berlin in June 2019.

Professor Schenck has initiated the creation of an H-Africa “Refugees in African History” , a cross-network project which links H-Africa with H-Migration, dedicated to the historical perspective on refuge seeking in Africa as well as to and from the African continent. Together with her team of editors, Keren Weitzberg (H-Africa), Jochen Lingelbach (H-Migration) and Johanna Wetzel, Prof. Schenck maintains the network, which serves as a space to bring together information concerning research, teaching and discussions on refugees in African history. Are you looking to share a conference call or a call for papers? Would you like to ask colleagues for fieldwork tips? Are you preparing a new course and would like to get inspired by different syllabi? We invite you to take a look at our resources and help us expand them further by sending your input to africanrefugeesmail.h-netorg

Globalgeschichte

Übersicht
Foto: Marcia Schenck

Die Professur für Globalgeschichte an der Universität Potsdam besteht seit 2020 und ist der Geschichtswissenschaft Afrikas als integralem Bestandteil der Globalgeschichte verpflichtet.

Globalgeschichte wird hier vor allem als Verflechtungsgeschichte verstanden. Unsere Welt wächst rapide zusammen, Englisch wird zu „Globish“ und nie zuvor konnten so viele Menschen so preiswert reisen – doch wachsen auch der Ethno-Nationalismus und das Bedürfnis der Abgrenzung von einer von vielen als zu komplex empfundenen Welt. Die Globalgeschichte geht über eurozentrische, nationalstaatliche Ansätze hinaus und erforscht historische Globalisierungsprozesse und -ideen. Sie zeigt sowohl auf der Makro- als auch auf der Mikroebene differenziert auf, wie Verbindungen aber auch Trennungen entstehen, wie Erdteile zusammenwachsen, aber auch Entfremdungsprozesse einsetzen. Globalgeschichte bietet die Möglichkeit, unsere Rolle als Weltbürger historisch zu reflektieren und uns bewusster in unserer Gegenwart zu positionieren.

Afrikas reiche Geschichte ist Zeugnis der großen Leistungen afrikanischer Gesellschaften aber auch der jahrtausendealten Verbindungen und Austauschprozesse mit dem Rest der Welt. Der Kontinent befindet sich im ständigen Wandel, dessen Ursachen und Folgen hier kritisch und historisch reflektiert werden.

Afrikahistoriker wirken daran mit, ein wissensgeschichtlich ausgewogenes Verständnis der Geschichte des Kontinents zu entwickeln und neue Methoden und Archive zu erschließen. So sind mündliche Quellen und deren innovative Auswertung ein wichtiger Teil ihres Methodenrepertoires, von dem auch Globalhistoriker profitieren.

Viele Herausforderungen liegen noch vor der Globalgeschichte sowie auch vor der Afrikanischen Geschichte – so können, auch gemeinsam, neue Archive erschlossen und methodische Probleme bewältigt werden. Die Forschungsgebiete der Professur umfassen Afrikanische- und Globalgeschichte mit Schwerpunkten auf der Migrationsgeschichte und auf Fluchtprozessen, der Arbeitsgeschichte, der Bildungsgeschichte, Oral History sowie der Geschichte internationaler Organisationen auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent.

Mit innovativen Lehrformaten bringt die Professur Studierende aus verschiedenen Ländern mit und ohne Fluchthintergrund zusammen, um Globalgeschichte zu lernen und durch eigene Forschungsprojekte zu produzieren.

Newsletter

Mailingliste der Professur für Globalgeschichte

wir vom Team der Professur Globalgeschichte laden Sie ein, mit uns im Kontakt zu bleiben! 

Über die Mailingliste der Professur für Globalgeschichte geben wir unter anderem Neuigkeiten aus der Professur bekannt, teilen Einladungen für Veranstaltungen der Professur, berichten über die Arbeiten von Studierenden unserer Kurse (z.B. aus dem ‚Queer Histories of Berlin Seminar‘, wo die Studierenden eine interaktive Karte erstellt haben, oder den ‚Global History Dialogues Project‘ Blog mit Oral History Forschungsarbeiten aus aller Welt), und halten Sie über Neuerscheinungen und öffentliche Veranstaltungen außerhalb der Universität Potsdam auf dem Laufenden. 

Hier können Sie sich einschreiben(und ausschreiben)

Wir freuen uns, Sie in der Global History Community willkommen zu heißen!

Ihr Team der Professur Globalgeschichte

 

 

Neuerscheinung - The Right to Research

Die Professur Globalgeschichte freut sich, die Veröffentlichung des Sammelbandes The Right to Research: Historical Narratives by Refugee and Global South Researchers als Teil der McGill-Queen's Refugee and Forced Migration Studies Series bekannt zu geben.  Der von Marcia C. Schenck und Kate Reed herausgegebene Band enthält neun Beiträge von Forscher:innen aus Flüchtlings- und Aufnahmegemeinschaften welche in Afrika, Europa und dem Nahen Osten leben.

Joanna Tague, Professorin an der Denison University und Autorin von Displaced Mozambicans in Postcolonial Tanzania: Refugee Power, Mobility, Education, and Rural Development empfiehlt das Buch mit den Worten:

“This ambitious and exciting volume makes a critical intervention in the processes of historical silencing and upsets conventional understandings of historical scholarship. The book reminds us that refugees have not been afforded the right to write history; this is a powerful, poignant, rightfully challenged assertion, and this assertion is timely - if not now, when?”

 Aktuelles

Neuerscheinung - Monografie

Die neue, open access Monografie von Professorin Schenck wurde soeben in der Reihe Transnational History von Palgrave Macmillan veröffentlicht. Unter dem Titel Remembering African Labor Migration to the Second World: Socialist Mobilities between Angola, Mozambique, and East Germany stützt sie sich auf mehr als 260 lebensgeschichtliche Interviews und deckt komplexe und widersprüchliche Erfahrungen und transnationale Begegnungen auf. Das Buch zeigt eine Reihe von Dualitäten auf, die in den Erinnerungen der ehemaligen Arbeitsmigrant:innen aus Angola und Mosambik nebeneinander existieren: der Staat und das Individuum, die Arbeit und der Konsum, die Integration und die Ausgrenzung, der Verlust und der Gewinn, die Vergangenheit in der Vergangenheit und die Vergangenheit in der Gegenwart und Zukunft. Indem das Buch diese Dualitäten diskutiert, wird das Leben afrikanischer Migrant:innen, zwischen der Dritten und der Zweiten Welt umrissen. Besuchen Sie die Website des Buches und laden Sie es kostenlos herunter! Das Buch wird im nächsten Jahr auch durch den Verlag Imprensa de Ciências Sociais auf portugiesisch verlegt werden.

Professorin Marcia Schenck und das Team der Professur für Globalgeschichte verbrachten die Tage zwischen dem 24. und 26. August auf einer Schreibklausur in den Blankenburger Bergen. Zwischen individuellen Arbeitssitzungen und kollektiven Feedbackgesprächen konnten die Teammitglieder auch in den umliegenden Wäldern wandern oder in den Gärten des Klosters Michaelstein arbeiten, um sich inspirieren zu lassen.

Auszeichnung für Freiräume – Potsdamer Historikerin Prof. Marcia Schenck erhält Fellowship des Historischen Kollegs

https://www.uni-potsdam.de/de/nachrichten/detail/2021-11-01-auszeichnung-fuer-freiraeume-potsdamer-historikerin-prof-marcia-schenck-erhaelt-fellows

Urkunde

Fakultätspreis der Philosophischen Fakultät

Professorin Marcia C. Schenck erhielt den auf Studierendenevaluationen basierenden Fakultätspreis der Philosophischen Fakultät für hervorragende Lehre 2020/21.

Cover

Der Sammelband Navigating Socialist Encounters. Moorings and (Dis)Entanglements between Africa and East Germany during the Cold War von Eric Burton, Anne Dietrich, Immanuel Harisch und Marcia C. Schenck herausgegeben ist open access erschienen.

Dieser Band verankert die afrikanische Geschichte fest in der Globalgeschichte, indem er die Verbindungen zwischen afrikanischen und ostdeutschen Akteuren und Institutionen während des Kalten Krieges beleuchtet. Mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Handlungsmacht und afrikanische Einflüsse auf die DDR (und umgekehrt) beleuchtet der Band persönliches und institutionelles Handeln, reziproke kulturelle Transfers, Migration, Entwicklung und Solidarität.

Sind Sie am Thema Flucht und Geflüchtete interessiert? Dann schauen Sie doch auf Africa is a Country nach, denn dort erscheint gerade eine englischsprachige Blog-Serie, Histories of Refuge, die sich mit verschiedensten Aspekten von Flucht in der afrikanischen Geschichte befasst. Die Beiträge stammen von den Mitgliedern des Workshops "Rethinking Refuge: Processes of Refuge Seeking", den Professorin Schenck im Juni 2019 im Forum für Transregionale Studien in Berlin organisierte. Es publizieren: Madina Thiam, Christoph Kalter, Lazlo Passemiers, Rose Jaji, Keren Weitzberg, Alfred Tembo, Jochen Lingelbach, Aderito Machava, Njung George, und Anita Vukovic. Prof. Schencks Beitrag über die 1969er Flüchtlingskonvention der Organisation der Afrikanischen Einheit ist bereits erschienen.

Professorin Schenck hat ein netzwerkübergreifendes Projekt H-Africa "Refugees in African History" über Geflüchtete in der afrikanischen Geschichte initiiert, welches Sie zusammen mit ihrem Redaktionsteam, bestehend aus Keren Weitzberg (H-Afrika), Jochen Lingelbach (H-Migration) und Johanna Wetzel, gestaltet und pflegt. Dieses Querschnittsnetzwerk verbindet H-Afrika mit H-Migration, um Forschenden den zielgerichteten Austausch über die komplexe Geschichte der Flüchtlingssuche in Afrika zu ermöglichen, und dient als Online-Raum zur Sammlung von Informationen über Forschung und Lehre und für Diskussionen über Flüchtlinge in der afrikanischen Geschichte. Calls for Papers, Konferenzankündigungen, Lehrpläne, Archivtipps und vieles mehr können Sie hier finden und teilen. Bitte senden Sie Ressourcen, die Sie auf dem Netzwerk teilen möchten, gerne an africanrefugeesmail.h-netorg