PoGS postdoc representatives

Dr. Jenny Lenkeit, PoGS postdoc representative 2022-24

Porträt Dr. Jenny Lenkeit
Photo: Dr. J. Lenkeit

University of Potsdam
Faculty of Human Sciences
Educational Sciences
Department of Elementary Education

Contact languages: German, English

Porträt Dr. Jenny Lenkeit
Photo: Dr. J. Lenkeit

Why do I get engaged as a PoGS postdoc representative?

My research focuses on socially determined educational inequalities and how these develop in the context of inclusive school settings.


have often participated in PoGS programmes and have rarely met colleagues from the social sciences. It seems to me that either people in the discipline are oblivious to the range of services and programmes that the PoGS offers, or other interests prevail. In both scenarios, I would like to take on a mediating role.

 

 


Dr. Patrick Arnold, PoGS postdoc representative 2022-24

Porträt Dr. Patrick Arnold
Photo: Dr. P. Arnold

Dr. Patrick Arnold

University of Potsdam
Institute of Biochemistry and Biology
Evolutionary Adaptive Genomics

Contact languages: German, English
Contact: patrickarnolduni-potsdamde

Porträt Dr. Patrick Arnold
Photo: Dr. P. Arnold

Why do I get engaged as a PoGS postdoc representative?

I did my PhD in evolutionary biology at the Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena and the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology Leipzig. Since January 2019 I am a researcher at the UP Institute for Biochemistry and Biology. My research focuses on the genetic and genomic basis of mammalian evolution.


Since my time as a PhD candidate, I engage in diverse university committees such as PhD, faculty or institute board. I am also the PostDoc representative of the PoGS since May 2020 and would like to contribute with my experience for the next term. My own experience at different institutions as well as discussions with other PostDocs at the UP highlight the importance of a good graduate school. To me, it is important that young researchers in this exciting but often uncertain stage between finishing PhD and appointment as a professor receive comprehensive support regarding training, career planning, networking or financial issues.

 

Portrait of Nadja Schubert

Contact person: Nadja Schubert

Potsdam Graduate School

 

WIS | Wissenschaftsetage, 4th floor
Bildungsforum
Am Kanal 47
14467 Potsdam

PoGS-Postdocvertretung

Dr. Jenny Lenkeit, PoGS-Postdocvertreterin 2022-24

Porträt Dr. Jenny Lenkeit
Foto: Dr. J. Lenkeit

Universität Potsdam
Humanwissenschaftliche Fakultät
Strukturbereich Bildungswissenschaften
Department Grundschulpädagogik

Kontaktsprachen: Deutsch, Englisch

Porträt Dr. Jenny Lenkeit
Foto: Dr. J. Lenkeit

Warum engagiere ich mich als PoGS-Postdocvertreterin?

In meiner Forschung beschäftige ich mich schwerpunktmäßig mit sozialbedingten Bildungsungleichheiten und wie sich diese im Kontext inklusiv arbeitender Schulen entwickeln.


Ich habe schon häufiger an den Programmen der PoGS teilgenommen und nur selten Kollegen und Kolleginnen aus den Sozialwissenschaften getroffen. Mir scheint, dass das vielfältige Angebot der PoGS hier entweder nicht bekannt genug ist, oder andere Interessen vorherrschen. In beiden möglichen Szenarien würde ich gern eine vermittelnde Rolle einnehmen.

 


Dr. Patrick Arnold, PoGS-Postdocvertreter 2022-24

Porträt Dr. Patrick Arnold
Foto: Dr. P. Arnold

Dr. Patrick Arnold

Universität Potsdam
Institut für Biochemie und Biologie
AG Evolutionary Adaptive Genomics

Kontaktsprachen: deutsch, englisch
Kontakt: patrickarnolduni-potsdamde

Porträt Dr. Patrick Arnold
Foto: Dr. P. Arnold

Warum engagiere ich mich als PoGS Postdocvertreter?

Nach meinem Studium der Evolutionsbiologie an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena habe ich dort und am Max-Planck-Institut für Evolutionäre Anthropologie in Leipzig promoviert. Seit Januar 2019 wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Biochemie und Biologie. Dort erforsche ich die genetischen und genomischen Grundlagen der Säugetierevolution.


Seit meiner Zeit als Doktorand engagiere ich mich in verschiedenen universitären Gremien und war/bin Mitglied des Doktoranden-, Fakultäts- oder Institutsrats. Seit Mai 2020 bin ich bereits PostDoc-Vertreter der PoGS und möchte meine bisher gesammelten Erfahrungen in eine weitere Amtszeit einbringen, um sie weiterhin aus einer PostDoc-Perspektive heraus verstärken. Meine eigenen Erfahrungen an verschiedenen Forschungseinrichtungen sowie die Gespräche mit PostDocs der UP haben  verdeutlicht, wie wichtig die Angebote von und die Betreuung durch Graduierteneinrichtungen sind. Mir ist es wichtig, dass junge Wissenschaftlerinnen und  Wissenschaftler in dieser spannenden aber oft auch ungewissen Zeit irgendwo zwischen Abschluss des Studiums und der Berufung auf eine Professur vielfältige
Unterstützung und Förderung erhalten.

 

Portrait von Nadja Schubert

Kontakt: Nadja Schubert

Potsdam Graduate School

 

4. Etage
Bildungsforum
Am Kanal 47
14467 Potsdam