Local students volunteering as Buddy

You are not a native German speaker but have been studying in Potsdam for long enough to know your way around? You want to help other internationals get accustomed to the German way of living and studying? Maybe you were an international buddy yourself once and now want to pass on your knowledge? Then please don't hesitate to also register as a local volunteer. 

The goal of the buddy program is primarily to make it easier for internationals to dive into their studies in Potsdam as soon as possible. Especially during the first few weeks it is highly beneficial for our newly arrived guests to have someone to reach out to and ask questions revolving around life in Potsdam. In return, you get the chance to meet new people and learn about cultures from all around the world and maybe even gain valuable contacts for your career and social life. If you want, you can hand in a report about your engagement as a buddy and receive a certificate in return.

You will be either matched with an exchange students (e.g. students who come to Potsdam with a program like Erasmus for 1-2 semesters) or degree-seeking students (international students who will do their whole bachelor's or master's degree in Potsdam).

When registering for the Buddy Program, you will have the possibility to express all kinds of preferences concerning your future buddy. We will try to regard them as well as possible. However, the most significant criterion for a successful buddy assistance is a similar subject and campus.  Therefore we cannot guarantee respecting all requests. 


Buddy Logo

Online Registration

Here you can apply for the Buddy Program for the summer semester 2020. After your registration, you will be able to access the form "Buddy Potsdam 2019". The coordination will be done in February.


Your responsibilities as local buddy

Responsibilities of a local buddy

How will the buddy assistance proceed?

1. Registration and coordination

2. Arrival

3. Briefing pack

4. Duration of stay

Credit and Certification

Validation as course achievement in a teacher's degree

Buddy Certificate

Tips, Links, Help

Tips for a successful buddy assistance

What you could do with your buddy

Where to find help?

Die Anmeldung für das Wintersemester 2020/21 ist jetzt offen. Auch, falls es wieder ein Onlinesemester werden sollte, brauchen unsere internationalen Gäste eure Unterstützung, zur Not auch nur virtuell. Wir freuen uns auf eure Anmeldungen!

Potsdamer Studierende als Buddy

Du möchtest vor Ort interkulturelle Erfahrungen sammeln und dich sozial engagieren? Dann bist du beim Buddy-Programm genau richtig! Als Potsdamer Buddy unterstützt Du internationale Studierende beim Einleben in Potsdam oder Berlin und an der Uni.

Das Ziel ist es vor allem, den Einstieg in das Studium zu erleichtern. Besonders in den ersten Wochen ist ein/e Ansprechpartner/in für alle Fragen rund um den Studienalltag sehr wichtig für die Neuankömmlinge. Außerdem kannst du deinem Buddy dabei helfen, evtl. auftretende Sprachbarrieren zu bewältigen. Im Gegenzug bekommst Du einen Einblick in andere spannende Kulturen und kannst internationale Kontakte knüpfen. Bei Abgabe eines Buddyberichts nach der Betreuung zertifizieren wir dir gerne die Teilnahme. 

Du kannst entweder Programmstudierende (d.h. Studierende, die z.B. mit Erasmus für 1-2 Semester nach Deutschland kommen) oder Studierende mit Abschluss (die ihren gesamten Bachelor oder Master in Potsdam absolvieren) begleiten. 

Bei der Anmeldung zum Buddy-Programm hast du die Möglichkeit, verschiedenste Wünsche bezüglich deines zukünftigen Buddys zu äußern. Wir versuchen, diese so gut wie möglich zu berücksichtigen. In erster Linie versuchen wir allerdings, die Buddys so zuzuordnen, dass ein gleiches oder ähnliches Studienfach die Basis für die Buddybetreuung bildet.


Online-Anmeldung

Hier geht's zur Anmeldung für das Buddy-Programm zum Wintersemester 2020/21. Nach Anmeldung im Portal kann auf das Formular ("Buddy Potsdam 2019") zugegriffen werden. Die Zuordnung erfolgt ab August.


Deine Aufgaben als Buddy

Aufgaben eines Buddys

Wie sieht der Ablauf aus?

1. Anmeldung und Zuordnung

2. Anreise

3. Info-Mappe

4. Aufenthaltsdauer

Anrechnung und Teilnahmebestätigung

Anrechnung als Studienleistung im Lehramt-Bachelor

Teilnahmebescheinigung

Tipps, Links, Hilfe

Tipps für eine erfolgreiche Buddybetreuung

Vorschläge, was Du mit deinem Buddy unternehmen könntest

Wo finde Ich Hilfe?