uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

The Law Faculty

The Law Faculty at the University of Potsdam is the “heavyweight” among Brandenburg’s Law Faculties, with over 2,000 students and about 250 graduates each year. Jurists and attorneys are educated here for work in the judicial system, government ministries, state and municipal administrations, law firms and notary offices, professional associations and companies. Our high-level expertise in the fields of international law and human rights, international private and civil procedure law and media law makes the University of Potsdam a central institution for the education of lawyers for European establishments and international organizations, whether in the public or private sector. 

The Faculty’s “core business” is the qualification of students and preparation for the First State Examination in Law. Our orientation towards research-based teaching means that the latest research flows directly into the design of our courses. This principle attains visible expression in the large number of textbooks, printed by top publishers and distributed nationwide throughout Germany, written by members of the Law Faculty of the University of Potsdam. Students therefore enjoy the advantage of hearing a lecture and then reading it again later, black on white. 

The quality of our graduates in Potsdam is high. They achieve the best grades in the national average and complete their degree within the standard time for completing a degree program at above-average frequency. This is one result of good one-on-one supervision with a comfortably sized faculty, close-knit campus locations, and the close contact that prevails among instructors and students. 

The priority fields of commercial, European and international law have shaped the Law Faculty in Potsdam. Focus is also placed on the fundamentals of jurisprudence. This distinction insists on the practical relevance of educational content while simultaneously upholding scholarly depth. Only in Potsdam can students study commercial law in these subject combinations. 

While classical legal education aims to produce fully attorneys “qualified to be a judge,” the Law Faculty has offered since the winter semester 2013/14 about 1,200 students the option to earn the terminal degree of “Bachelor of Laws” (LL.B.) after the sixth semester of study. This grants all students who want to begin practicing and specializing the opportunity – nearly unique in Germany – to craft their degree to fit their professional goals. Supplemented by the option to continue studying in the classical State Examination program, to pursue a master’s degree (LL.M.) or Magister (MagisterLegum), students earn degrees, whether in Germany or abroad, that are modern and meet the expectations of the legal field. The course offerings for other Faculties are customized precisely to their needs. The dual-degree bachelor’s degrees in “Business Law” and “Public Law” are oriented primarily towards students at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences. Students at other Faculties can also take advantage of courses that are attractive to those not specializing in law. Potsdam’s Law Faculty is also innovative and modern when it comes to the increasingly important field of continuing education. Course offerings are seamlessly connected to the commercial orientation of the priority fields. The master’s degree program in Commercial and Tax Law is designed to be friendly towards families and part-time students, and its over 100 students enjoy a program that is one-of-a-kind in the region. The Mediation Certificate Program is widely popular, and not just with lawyers. There is also offering in the municipal sciences, which meets the growing demand for training in municipal and community administration.

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

Schliessen

Portrait der Fakultät

Die Juristische Fakultät der Universität Potsdam ist mit ihren über 2000 Studierenden und jährlich etwa 250 Absolventen die "Große" der Juristischen Fakultäten im Land Brandenburg. Hier werden die Juristen für die Justiz, den Ministerialdienst und die Landes- und Kommunalverwaltungen, für Rechtsanwaltskanzleien und Notariate, für Verbände und Unternehmen ausgebildet. Die hohe Kompetenz auf den Gebieten des Völkerrechts und der Menschenrechte, des Internationalen Privat- und Zivilverfahrensrechts sowie des Medienwirtschaftsrechts prädestiniert die Universität Potsdam zudem für die Ausbildung von Juristinnen und Juristen für europäische Einrichtungen und internationale Organisationen im öffentlichen wie auch im privatwirtschaftlichen Bereich.

Das "Kerngeschäft" der Fakultät ist die Qualifizierung der Studierenden und die Hinführung auf die Erste Juristische Prüfung. Orientiert am Leitbild der forschungsbasierten Lehre fließen neueste Forschungsergebnisse unmittelbar in die Konzeption der Lehrveranstaltungen ein. Sichtbarer Ausdruck dieses Prinzips ist die große Zahl bundesweit verbreiteter Lehrbücher bei Spitzenverlagen, die aus der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Potsdam stammen. Die Studierenden genießen daher den Vorteil, das in der Vorlesung Gehörte sofort schwarz auf weiß nachlesen zu können.

Die Qualität der Potsdamer Absolventen ist hoch. Sie erzielen im Landesdurchschnitt die besten Noten und studieren überdurchschnittlich häufig in der Regelstudienzeit. Ein Ergebnis der guten persönlichen Betreuung an einer relativ überschaubaren Fakultät mit kurzen Wegen und dem hier herrschenden engen Kontakt zwischen Lehrenden und Lernenden.

Die Schwerpunktbereiche, die die Juristische Fakultät in Potsdam ausgeprägt hat, sind wirtschaftsrechtlich, europäisch und international ausgerichtet. Andererseits werden die Grundlagen der Rechtswissenschaft nicht vernachlässigt. Dieser Zuschnitt setzt auf die Praxisrelevanz der Ausbildungsinhalte, ohne an wissenschaftlicher Tiefe zu verlieren. Nur in Potsdam kann Wirtschaftsrecht in dieser Fächerkombination studiert werden.

Während die klassische Juristenausbildung zum Volljuristen auf den Erwerb der "Befähigung zum Richteramt" abzielt, bietet die Juristische Fakultät seit dem Wintersemester 2013/2014 darüber hinaus etwa 1200 Studierenden zusätzlich die Möglichkeit, bereits ab dem 6. Fachsemester Regelstudienzeit mit dem Grad des "Bachelor of Laws" (LL.B.) einen ersten berufsqualifizierenden Abschluss zu erwerben. Allen Studierenden, die sich früh in der Praxis betätigen und spezialisieren wollen, eröffnet sich damit eine bundesweit nahezu einmalige Möglichkeit, ihre Studienabschlüsse auf ihre beruflichen Ziele abgestimmt zu gestalten. Ergänzt durch die Möglichkeit der Weiterqualifikation im klassischen Staatsexamensstudiengang, einen Masterstudiengang (LL.M.) oder Magisterstudiengang (Magister Legum) im In- oder Ausland erwerben die Studierenden moderne und den Erwartungen der Praxis gerecht werdende Abschlüsse. Auch die Lehrangebote für andere Fakultäten sind passgenau auf deren Bedürfnisse abgestimmt. Die Zweitfach-Bachelorstudiengänge "Recht der Wirtschaft" und "Öffentliches Recht" richten sich vor allem an Studierende der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät. Studierende anderer Fakultäten können zudem ein attraktives Studienangebot für Nichtjuristen nutzen. Auf dem immer wichtiger werdenden Feld der Weiterbildung zeigt sich Potsdams Juristische Fakultät innovativ und modern. Die Angebote knüpfen nahtlos an die wirtschaftsrechtliche Orientierung der Schwerpunktbereiche an. Der familien- und teilzeitfreundliche Masterstudiengang Unternehmens- und Steuerrecht mit seinen über einhundert Studierenden ist in der Region einzigartig. Auch das Zertifikatsstudium Mediation erfreut sich nicht nur bei Juristen weiterhin großer Beliebtheit. Hinzu kommt ein kommunalwissenschaftliches Angebot, das dem wachsenden Qualifizierungsbedarf in den Verwaltungen der Städte und Gemeinden Rechnung trägt.