GesDimS Logo in grüner Schrift auf weißem Hintergrund
Photo: Florian Seidel

"GesDimS" - Societal-Democratic Engagement as a Dimension of Student Success is a BMBF-funded joint project of the University of Potsdam and the Institute for Higher Education Research Halle-Wittenberg (HoF). The project pursues two central research questions:

  1. How does societal-democratic engagement among students develop over the course of their studies?
  2. Is the development of societal-democratic engagement monitored and promoted by the quality management of higher education institutions?

Within the joint project, the University of Potsdam addresses the first research question and the Institute for Higher Education Research Halle-Wittenberg the second. To investigate its research question, the University of Potsdam is supplementing the existing student panel with a question module on societal-democratic engagement. Surveys are planned at three points in time. In addition, educational biographical interviews with dropouts and graduates will be conducted.

Findings on the development of societal-democratic engagement in the course of studies are still rare, since the assessment of higher education performance in studies and teaching tends to be based on economic efficiency criteria. Although higher education correlates positively with both political/social engagement and related attitudes (political interest, pro-democratic values, etc.), the extent to which this participation is fostered by studying is largely unexplored. It also remains to be investigated whether this engagement was already present before the start of studies and to what extent dropouts also participate in these democratization processes through (partial) academization. How this development is intentionally promoted by the universities also remains to be investigated. Against the backdrop of developments such as the rise of extreme right-wing groups and declining trust in politics, the study of such issues is of particular relevance.
 

Presentation of the project at the BMBF transfer conference: "Many paths lead to success"


The project is jointly realized by the Chair for Methods of Empirical Social Research at the Faculty of Economics and Social Sciences of the University of Potsdam (Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kohler), the Center for Quality Development in Teaching and Learning (Department of University Studies) and the Institute for Higher Education Research Halle-Wittenberg.

Contact persons:

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kohler
Moira De Angelis
Dorothea Harles
Valerie Aliza Jäpel (student assistant)
Frank Niedermeier

Prof. Dr. Peer Pasternack
Cecilia Maas
Sophie Korthase (student assistant)

Contact: gesdimsuni-potsdamde

This project is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research under funding code 01PX21009A. The author is responsible for the content of this publication.

blaues Logo der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät auf weißem Hintergrund
blaues Logo des HOF auf weißem Hintergund
Förderlogo BMBF

GesDimS Logo in grüner Schrift auf weißem Hintergrund
Foto: Florian Seidel

„GesDimS“ – Gesellschaftlich-demokratische Teilhabe als Dimension des Studienerfolgs ist ein BMBF-gefördertes Verbundprojekt der Universität Potsdam und des Instituts für Hochschulforschung Halle-Wittenberg (HoF). Das Projekt verfolgt zwei zentrale Forschungsfragen:

  1. Wie entwickelt sich die gesellschaftlich-demokratische Teilhabe unter Studierenden im Studienverlauf?
  2. Wird die Entwicklung der gesellschaftlich-demokratischen Teilhabe durch das Qualitätsmanagement der Hochschulen überprüft und gefördert?

Innerhalb des Verbundvorhabens befasst sich die Universität Potsdam mit der ersten und das HoF mit der zweiten Forschungsfrage. Zur Untersuchung ihrer Forschungsfrage ergänzt die Universität Potsdam das bestehende Studierendenpanel um ein Fragemodul zur gesellschaftlich-demokratischen Teilhabe. Geplant sind Befragungen zu drei Zeitpunkten. Zudem werden bildungsbiografische Interviews mit Studienabbrecher_innen und Absolvent_innen durchgeführt.

Befunde zur Entwicklung gesellschaftlich-demokratischer Teilhabe im Studienverlauf sind noch rar, da die Beurteilung hochschulischer Leistungsfähigkeit in Studium und Lehre eher entlang ökonomisierender Effizienzkriterien erfolgt. Zwar korreliert höhere Bildung positiv sowohl mit politischem/gesellschaftlichem Engagement als auch mit den damit zusammenhängenden Einstellungen (politisches Interesse, pro-demokratische Werte, etc.), aber inwiefern diese Teilhabe durch das Studium gefördert wird, ist weitgehend unerforscht. Ebenfalls noch zu untersuchen gilt es, ob diese Teilhabe bereits vor Studienbeginn vorhanden war und inwieweit durch eine (Teil-)Akademisierung auch Studienabbrecher_innen an diesen Demokratisierungsprozessen teilhaben. Wie diese Entwicklung intentional durch die Hochschulen gefördert wird, ist überdies noch zu erforschen. Vor dem Hintergrund von Entwicklungen wie dem Erstarken extremer Rechter und dem sinkenden Vertrauen in die Politik kommt der Bearbeitung solcher Fragestellungen besondere Relevanz zu.

Vorstellung des Projekts auf der BMBF-Transfertagung: "Viele Wege führen zum Erfolg"


Das Projekt wird gemeinsam von der Professur für Methoden der empirischen Sozialforschung an der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät der Universität Potsdam (Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kohler), dem Zentrum für Qualitätsentwicklung in Lehre und Studium (Bereich Hochschulstudien) und dem HoF realisiert.
 

Ansprechpartnerinnen und Ansprechpartner:

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Kohler
Moira De Angelis
Dorothea Harles
Valerie Aliza Jäpel (WHK)
Frank Niedermeier

Prof. Dr. Peer Pasternack
Cecilia Maas
Sophie Korthase (WHK)

Kontakt: gesdimsuni-potsdamde

Dieses Vorhaben wird aus Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung unter dem Förderkennzeichen 01PX21009A gefördert. Die Verantwortung für den Inhalt dieser Veröffentlichung liegt beim Autor.

blaues Logo der Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaftlichen Fakultät auf weißem Hintergrund
blaues Logo des HOF auf weißem Hintergund
Förderlogo BMBF