For an up to date list of publications see Rike's google scholar entry:


Peer-Reviewed Publications


21. Jiang Y., Liu, L. C., Sarracini, A., Krawczyk, K., Wentzell, J.,  Lu, C., Field, R., Matar, S., Gawelda, W., Müller-Werkmeister, H. M., and Miller, R. J. D., Direct Observation of Nuclear Reorganization Driven by Ultrafast Spin Transitions, Nature Communications, (accepted)

20.  Mehrabi, P., Müller-Werkmeister, H. M., Leimkohl, J.-P., Schikora, H., Ninkovic, J., Krivokuca, S., Andricek, L., Epp, S.W., Sherrel, D., Owen, R.L. et al., The HARE chip for efficient time-resolved serial synchrotron crystallography, J. Synchrotron Rad. 27, (in press)


19. Mehrabi, P. et al. Time-resolved crystallography reveals allosteric communication aligned with molecular breathing, Science 365 (6458), 1167-1170, (2019)

18.  Liu, L. C. et al. Observation of counterion effects and dimensionality reduction in single-crystal (EDO-TTF)2SbF6 with ultrafast electron diffraction. EPJ Web of Conferences 205 , 04007 (2019)

17.   Jiang, Y. et al. Direct observation of structural dynamics upon photo-excitation in a spin crossover crystal with femtosecond electron diffraction. EPJ Web of Conferences 205 , 07005 (2019)

16. J. J. Zaitsev-Doyle, A. Puchert, Y. Pfeifer, H. Yan, B. A. Yorke, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, C. Uetrecht, J. Rehbein, N. Huse, A. R. Pearson, and M. Sans, Synthesis and characterisation of α-carboxynitrobenzyl photocaged l -aspartates for applications in time-resolved structural biology, RSC Adv. 9 (15), 8695–8699, 2019

15. I. Martiel, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, A. E. Cohen, Strategies for sample delivery for femtosecond crystallography. Acta Cryst D, 75(2):160–177, 2019


14. E. C. Schulz*, P. Mehrabi*, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister*, F. Tellkamp, A. Jha, W. Stuart, E. Persch, R. De Gasparo, F. Diederich, E. F. Pai, R. J. D. Miller, The hit-and-return system enables efficent time-resolved serial synchrotron crystallography, *contributed equally, Nature Methods, 15 (11), 901-904, 2018


13. E. C. Schulz, J. Kaub, F. Busse, P. Mehrabi, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, E. F. Pai, W. D. Robertson, R. J. D. Miller, Crystal structure determination from picosecond infrared laser ablated protein crystals by serial synchrotron crystallography, J. Appl. Cryst., J. Appl. Cryst., 50 (6), 1773-1781, 2017

12. S. W. Epp, M. Hada, Y. Zhong, Y. Kumagai, K. Motomura, S. Mizote, T. Ono, S. Owada, D. Axford, S. Bakhtiarzadeh, H. Fukuzawa, Y. Hayashi, T. Katayama, A. Marx, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, R. L. Owen, D. A. Sherrell, K. Tono, K. Ueda, F. Westermeier, R. J. D. Miller, Time zero determination for FEL pump-probe studies based on ultrafast melting of bismuth, Struc. Dyn. 4, 054308, 2017

11. F. Lehner, D. Kudlinzki, C. Richter, H. Müller-Werkmeister, K. Eberl, J. Bredenbeck, H. Schwalbe, R. Silvers,  The Impact of Azidohomoalanine Incorporation on Protein Structure and Ligand Binding, ChemBioChem, 2017

10. L. C. Liu, Y. Jiang, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, C. Lu, G. Moriena, M. Ishikawa, Y. Nakano, H. Yamochi, R. J. D. Miller, Ultrafast Electron Diffraction Study of Single-Crystal (EDO-TTF)2SbF6: Counterion Effect and Dimensionality Reduction, Chemical Physics Letters,683, 160-165, 2017

9. Y. Jiang, L. C. Liu, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, C. Lu, D. Zhang, A. Sarracini, R. L. Field, E. Collet, R. J. D. Miller, Structural Dynamics upon Photoexcitation in a Spin Crossover Crystal probed with Femtosecond Electron DiffractionAngewandte Chemie International Edition, 56 (25), 7130-7134, 2017

8. R. L. Owen, D. Axford, D. A. Sherrell, A. Kuo, O. P. Ernst, E. C. Schulz, R. J. D. Miller, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, Low dose fixed target serial synchrotron crystallography, Acta Cryst. D, D73, 373-378, 2017


7. H. M. Ginn, P. Roedig, A. Kuo, G. Evans, N. K. Sauter, O. P. Ernst, A. Meents, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, R. J. D. Miller, D. I. Stuart, TakeTwo: an indexing algorithm suited for still images with known crystal parameters. Acta Cryst. D, D72, 956-965, 2016

6. S. Oghbaey*, A. Sarracini*, H. M. Ginn*, O. Pare-Labrosse, A. Kuo, A. Marx, S. W. Epp, D. A. Sherrell, B. T. Eger, Y. Zhong, R. Loch, V. Mariani, R. Alonso-Mori, S. Nelson, H. T. Lemke, R. L. Owen, A. R. Pearson, D. I. Stuart, O. P. Ernst, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, R. J. D. Miller, Fixed Target combined with Spectral Mapping: Approaching 100% Hit Rates for Serial Crystallography, *contributed equally, Acta Cryst. D, D72, 944-955, 2016

5. Y. Jiang, L. C. Liu, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, M. Gao, C. Lu, D. Zhang, E. Collet, R. J. D. Miller, Femtosecond Electron Diffraction Study of the Spin Crossover Dynamics of Single Crystalline [Fe(PMAzA)2](NCS)2,Ultrafast Phenomena XIX, Springer Series in Physics, 2015

4. H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, M. Essig, P. Durkin, N. Budisa, J. Bredenbeck,
Towards the direct measurement of vibrational energy flow in proteins, Ultrafast Phenomena XIX, Springer Series in Physics, 2015


3. L. J. G. W. van Wilderen, D. Kern-Michler, H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, J. Bredenbeck, Vibrational dynamics and solvatochromism of the label SCN in various solvents and hemoglobin by time dependent IR and 2D-IR spectroscopyPhys. Chem. Chem. Phys., 16, 19643-19653, 2014

2. H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, J. Bredenbeck, A donor-acceptor pair for the real-time study of energy flow in proteins, Phys. Chem. Chem. Phys., 16, 3261-3266, 2014

1. H. M. Müller-Werkmeister, Y.-L. Li, E.-L. W. Lerch, D. Bigourd, J. Bredenbeck,
 Ultrafast Hopping from Band to Band: Assigning Infrared spectra based on vibrational energy transferAngewandte Chemie International Edition, 52 (24), 6214–6217, 2013