Inclusion Concept

You can watch the video with German subtitles on Media.UP.

Having signed the UN Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in December 2008, the Federal Republic of Germany is committed to implementing inclusive thinking and actions in all areas of society – including university education. In particular, Article 24 outlines specific steps on the way to a university “for everyone” – a wording that the German Rectors' Conference (Hochschulrektorenkonferenz) also includes in its 2009 recommendation and that sums up the very essence of inclusion (cf. Federal Government Commissioner for Matters relating to Persons with Disabilities 2017, German Rectors' Conference 2013). People with disabilities and/or chronic conditions who have the formal qualifications must consequently be granted full access to the university, equal participation, good working conditions, and the possibility of obtaining academic degrees. With the adoption of this Inclusion Concept for students and employees with disabilities and/or chronic conditions, the University of Potsdam is making a significant contribution to the deconstruction of barriers as well as to the implementation of the prohibition of discriminatory treatment as stipulated in Article 3, subsection 3 of the German Basic Law (GG) and further specified in the Equal Opportunities for Persons with Disabilities Act (BGG), the Ninth Book of the Social Code (SGB IX), the Federal Participation Act (BTHG), and the General Act on Equal Treatment (AGG).

Development and Goals of the Inclusion Concept

The University of Potsdam’s Inclusion Concept is made up of four parts: a general section and three fields of action. The general section and the field of action “Studies and Teaching” were developed by the Commissioner for Students with Disabilities and/or Chronic Conditions and by the staff of the ESF project “One University for Everyone - Inclusive Studies” at the Central Student Advisory Office (ZSB) of the University of Potsdam. This process was carried out in cooperation with the leadership of the Division of Student Affairs, the Equal Opportunity Coordination Office (KfC), the Center for Teaching Quality Development (ZfQ) with the units Career Service und Higher Education Studies (Hochschulstudien), representatives of the faculties, the General Students' Committee (AStA) and numerous other individuals.

The preliminary results of this collaboration between the departments mentioned above were publicly presented to the university during the online workshop “One University for Everyone – Towards an Inclusion Concept for the University of Potsdam” on September 18, 2020, and discussed with students and staff from various departments of the university. The goals and measures that were ultimately laid out in this Inclusion Concept were presented publicly to the university and the state on December 1, 2020 at the online event “One University for Everyone – the University of Potsdam on the Way to an Inclusive University” thanks to funding from the State Commissioner for People with a Disability.

The section for university employees was drawn up by the Commissioner for Employees with Disabilities and/or Chronic Conditions together with relevant employees from the Division of Human Resources as well as the Staff Council and the Advisor for Quality Management in the Administration (Chancellor’s Office). This process was carried out in close consultation with the Representative Body for Employees with Disabilities (SBV). This section documents and consolidates the interests of both the employee and employer perspectives into a comprehensive guide for the structured elimination of barriers in the work environment that is higher education. The basis for this section is the Ninth Book of the German Social Code (SGB IX) and the associated regulations on the rehabilitation and participation of people with disabilities, although the stated goals and measures go far beyond the legally prescribed guidelines.

The section on digital accessibility was developed in cooperation with the Center for Information Technology and Media Management (ZIM). The results produced by the Digital Accessibility steering group were also taken into account. The section on accessibility of buildings and structures was developed by a working group together with the Construction, Occupational Safety, Organization (BSO) unit. The results of the Mobile Accessibility working group have been incorporated in the process.

The Inclusion Concept aims to

  • communicate inclusion as a university-wide task and a task for society as a whole both internally and externally,
  • counteract discrimination and create equal opportunities for the heterogeneous target group,
  • firmly embed the understanding of inclusion at the structural, institutional, and organizational levels,
  • make it possible for all students to earn a degree,
  • provide adequate, scientifically sound support services for students with disabilities and/or chronic illnesses,
  • provide employees with disabilities and/or chronic illnesses with adequate working conditions,
  • increase the proportion of employees with a disability by at least 1 percent,
  • improve structural and technical accessibility as well as
  • implement an ongoing process of reflection and evaluation of the structures to be created.

This Inclusion Concept is intended to be an overall strategy; its implementation takes on more concrete dimensions by way of a milestone plan. For the time being, the measures described there refer to the implementation period from 2021 to 2030.

You can watch the video with German and English subtitles on the YouTube channel of the University of Potsdam.

Contact

Commissioner for Employees with Impairments and Chronic Conditions

Contact

Commissioner for Students with a Disability

Inklusionskonzept

Durch die Unterzeichnung der UN-Konvention über die Rechte von Menschen mit Behinderungen im Dezember 2008 verpflichtete sich die Bundesrepublik Deutschland dazu, inklusives Denken und Handeln in allen gesellschaftlichen Bereichen umzusetzen – so auch in der Bildung. Insbesondere in Artikel 24 werden konkrete Schritte auf dem Weg hin zu einer Hochschule „für alle“ formuliert – eine Formulierung, die auch die Hochschulrektorenkonferenz in ihrer Empfehlung von 2009 festhält und die das Wesen von Inklusion auf den Punkt bringt (vgl. Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für die Belange von Menschen mit Behinderungen 2017, Hochschulrektorenkonferenz 2013). Menschen mit Behinderungen und/oder chronischer Erkrankung, die die formelle Qualifikation besitzen, muss somit der freie Zugang zur Universität, gleichberechtigte Teilhabe, gute Arbeitsbedingungen und die Möglichkeit zur Erlangung akademischer Abschlüsse gewährt werden. Mit der Verabschiedung des vorliegenden Inklusionskonzepts für Studierende und Mitarbeiter:innen mit Behinderungen und/oder chronischer Erkrankung leistet die Universität Potsdam einen umfassenden Beitrag zum Abbau von Barrieren sowie zur Realisierung des Benachteiligungsverbotes, das in Artikel 3 Absatz 3 des Grundgesetzes (GG) fixiert und das im Behindertengleichstellungsgesetz (BGG), im Sozialgesetzbuch Neuntes Buch (SGB IX), im Bundesteilhabegesetz (BTHG) und im Allgemeinen Gleichbehandlungsgesetz (AGG) weiter konkretisiert wurde.

Entstehung und Ziele des Inklusionskonzepts

Das Inklusionskonzept der Universität Potsdam besteht aus vier Teilen: einem allgemeinen Abschnitt und drei Handlungsfeldern. Der Allgemeine Teil sowie der Abschnitt Handlungsfeld Studium und Lehre wurden federführend vom Beauftragten für Studierende mit Behinderungen und/oder chronischer Erkrankung und durch die Mitarbeiter:innen im ESF-Projekt „Eine Uni für Alle – Studium inklusiv gestalten“ in der Zentralen Studienberatung (ZSB) der Universität Potsdam entwickelt. Dies geschah in Zusammenarbeit mit der Leitung des Dezernats für Studienangelegenheiten, dem Koordinationsbüro für Chancengleichheit (KfC), dem Zentrum für Qualitätsentwicklung in Lehre und Studium (ZfQ) mit den Bereichen Career Service und Hochschulstudien, Vertreter:innen der Fakultäten, dem Allgemeinen Studierendenausschuss (AStA) sowie zahlreichen Einzelpersonen.

Die vorläufigen Ergebnisse der Zusammenarbeit der genannten Bereiche wurden hochschulöffentlich in der Online-Werkstatt „Eine Uni für alle – auf dem Weg zu einem Inklusionskonzept für die Universität Potsdam“ am 18.09.2020 vorgestellt und mit Studierenden und Mitarbeiter:innen aus verschiedenen Bereichen der Universität diskutiert. Die abschließend in diesem Inklusionskonzept formulierten Ziele und Maßnahmen konnten am 01.12.2020 dank einer Förderung der Landesbehindertenbeauftragten der Hochschul und Landesöffentlichkeit im Rahmen der Online-Veranstaltung „Eine Uni für Alle – die Universität Potsdam auf dem Weg zu einer inklusiven Hochschule“ präsentiert werden.

Der Abschnitt für Beschäftigte der Universität wurde von der Beauftragten für Beschäftigte mit Behinderungen und/oder chronischen Erkrankungen gemeinsam mit Verantwortlichen aus dem Personaldezernat sowie dem Personalrat und der Referentin für Qualitätsmanagement in der Verwaltung (Kanzlerbüro) erarbeitet. Dies geschah in enger Absprache mit der Schwerbehindertenvertretung (SBV). Dieser Teil dokumentiert und vereint die Interessen der Arbeitnehmer:innen- und Arbeitgeber:innenseite zu einem umfassenden Leitfaden zur strukturierten Beseitigung von Barrieren im Arbeitskontext Hochschule. Grundlage für diesen Abschnitt bildet das Neunte Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB IX) und die damit verbundenen Regelungen zur Rehabilitation und Teilhabe von Menschen mit Behinderungen wobei die formulierten Ziele und Maßnahmen weit über die gesetzlich vorgegebenen Richtlinien hinausgehen.

Der Abschnitt digitale Barrierefreiheit wurde gemeinsam mit dem Zentrum für Informationstechnologie und Medienmanagement (ZIM) erarbeitet. Hierbei sind auch die Arbeitsergebnisse der Steuerungsgruppe Digitale Barrierefreiheit mitberücksichtigt worden. Der Teil zur baulichen Barrierefreiheit wurde von einer Arbeitsgruppe gemeinsam mit dem Bereich Bauverwaltung, Sicherheitswesen, Organisation (BSO) entwickelt. In die Erarbeitung sind die Ergebnisse der Arbeitsgruppe Mobile Barrierefreiheit6 eingeflossen.

Das Konzept zielt darauf,

  • Inklusion als universitätsweite und gesamtgesellschaftliche Aufgabe nach innen und außen zu kommunizieren,
  • Diskriminierung entgegenzuwirken und Chancengleichheit der heterogenen Zielgruppe herzustellen,
  • das Inklusionsverständnis auf struktureller, institutioneller und organisatorischer Ebene zu verankern,
  • allen Studierenden einen Studienabschluss zu ermöglichen,
  • adäquate, wissenschaftlich fundierte Unterstützungsangebote für Studierende mit Behinderungen und/oder chronischer Erkrankung bereitzustellen,
  • Mitarbeiter:innen mit Behinderungen und/ oder chronischer Erkrankung adäquate Arbeitsbedingungen zu ermöglichen,
  • die Quote der Mitarbeiter:innen mit einer Schwerbehinderung um mindestens 1 Prozent zu erhöhen,
  • die bauliche und technische Barrierefreiheit zu verbessern sowie
  • einen fortwährenden Reflexions- und Evaluationsprozess der zu schaffenden Strukturen zu implementieren.

Das vorliegende Inklusionskonzept stellt eine Gesamtstrategie dar, deren Umsetzung durch einen Meilensteinplan konkretisiert wird. Die dort beschriebenen Maßnahmen beziehen sich zunächst auf den Umsetzungszeitraum von 2021 bis 2030.

Kontakt

Beauftragte für Mitarbeiter:innen mit Beeinträchtigungen und chronischen Erkrankungen

Kontakt

Beauftragter für Studierende mit Behinderung