Skip to main content

Astrophysicist Prof. Dr. Tim Dietrich receives IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize

Prof. Dr. Tim Dietrich
Photo : Thomas Roese
Prof. Dr. Tim Dietrich

A good start in 2023: Astrophysicist Prof. Dr. Tim Dietrich receives IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize in General Relativity and Gravitation and a scholarship from the Daimler and Benz Foundation.

Tim Dietrich, assistant professor at the University of Potsdam and Max Planck Fellow at the Max Planck Institute for Gravitational Physics, has been honored by the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) as the best young scientist in the field of general relativity and gravitation. Dietrich receives this prize for his fundamental contributions to the development of binary neutron star models and the understanding of extremely dense nuclear matter. The award comes with a prize money of 1,000 euros and a medal.

Shortly before, Dietrich obtained a grant of 40,000 euros from the Daimler and Benz Foundation for his research. The foundation awards grants to outstanding postdocs, non-permanent professors and group leaders with the aim of strengthening the autonomy and creativity of the next generation of scientists. The funding will support Dietrich and his team to deepen their interdisciplinary research in the areas of nuclear physics, general relativity, gravitational-wave astronomy, and multi-messenger astronomy, and to expand their research network. In their project NUMANJI (Nuclear Physics and Multi-messenger Astronomy through Joint bayesian Inference) they use Bayesian analysis tools to analyze multi-messenger and nuclear physics data. They are especially interested in gravitational-wave and electromagnetic signals emitted by coalescing neutron stars.

To make the good start into 2023 complete, in February Dietrich was selected Germany's third best young scientist in the “Young Scientist of the Year 2022” competition by academics.

Link to Press Release Albert Einstein Institute:

Link to IUPAP Early Career Scientist Prize:

Link to Daimler and Benz Foundation: