uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

The Voltaire Prize for Tolerance, International Understanding and Respect for Differences

The philosopher Voltaire (left) was a frequent guest at Sanssouci Palace in Potsdam (right).

In June 22, 2017, the University of Potsdam is presenting the inaugural “Voltaire Prize for Tolerance, International Understanding and Respect for Differences” at the central graduation ceremony. The prize amounts to € 5,000 and is financed by the Friede Springer Foundation. Each year, the University of Potsdam will award the prize to one young scholar who has made an important contribution to the social dialogue on peace, international understanding and tolerance, or who has campaigned for freedom in research and teaching, or the right of free expression.

The French philosopher was a pioneer of the Enlightenment

The prize is named after the French philosopher and writer François Marie Arouet de Voltaire, who lived from 1694 to 1778. He was among the most widely read and influential authors of the French and European Enlightenment. His critiques of the abuses of absolutism and feudalism, as well as the Catholic Church, made Voltaire a pioneer of the Enlightenment and an important trailblazer for the French Revolution.

Voltaire was also an important thinker with regard to social tolerance. His “Treatise on Tolerance,” written in 1763, was occasioned by a legal scandal in 1762 and represents an important milestone in the development of the modern constitutional state, which is why it now belongs to the founding texts of Enlightenment literature.

The spirit of Enlightenment and tolerance lives on in Potsdam, as the city’s mission statement officially notes: “The city of Potsdam is a city of diversity, equal opportunity and tolerance for all people, regardless of lifestyle, age, gender, disability, origin, faith, sexual orientation or income.” This spirit is embodied in municipal projects such as the “New Potsdam Tolerance Edict of 2008,“ or the “Potsdam Shows Its Colors“ federation, in which the University of Potsdam is involved.

The University Promotes Cosmopolitanism and a Welcoming Culture

In international circles, the University of Potsdam presents itself to its partners in research and teaching as a university that is closely affiliated with the Enlightenment of Voltaire and La Mettrie, as well as nineteenth-century research in the natural sciences. Internationalization is a crucial component of the University of Potsdam’s overall strategy, contributing to the further improvement of the quality and competitiveness of research, study and teaching at the University of Potsdam. At the same time, however, the implementation of the internationalization strategy will promote cosmopolitanism, intercultural exchange and a welcoming culture.

The Enlightenment and tolerance are a foundational element of research at the University of Potsdam. At the beginning of this year, work by Potsdam scholars and scientists lead to the founding of a joint research institution with the Prussian Palaces and Gardens Foundation. The “Research Center Sanssouci” initiative will build on the cultural and historical heritage of the Enlightenment and Brandenburg-Prussian history while addressing future questions about a democratic knowledge society based on Enlightenment principles.

Sculpture by a Potsdam Artist

The University of Potsdam commissioned the Potsdam artist Mikos Meininger with the creation of the Voltaire Prize. He has created a figurine that is 15 cm tall, and it will be presented to the award winner on the day of the ceremony.

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

Voltaire-Preis für Toleranz, Völkerverständigung und Respekt vor Differenz

Der Philosoph Voltaire (links) war häufig Gast im Potsdamer Schloss Sanssouci (rechts).

Die Universität Potsdam verlieh am 22. Juni 2017 im Rahmen der zentralen Absolventenverabschiedung erstmals den „Voltaire-Preis für Toleranz, Völkerverständigung und Respekt vor Differenz“. Die Auszeichnung ist mit 5.000 Euro dotiert und wird finanziert von der Friede Springer Stiftung . Mit dem Preis ehrt die Universität Potsdam jedes Jahr eine jüngere Wissenschaftlerin bzw. einen jüngeren Wissenschaftler, die bzw. der einen wichtigen Beitrag zum gesellschaftlichen Dialog über Frieden, Völkerverständigung und Toleranz geleistet hat oder sich für die Freiheit von Forschung und Lehre sowie für das Recht der freien Meinungsäußerung eingesetzt hat.

Der französische Philosoph war Vordenker der Aufklärung

Der Preis ist benannt nach dem französischen Philosoph und Schriftsteller François Marie Arouet de Voltaire, der von 1694 bis 1778 lebte. Er zählt zu den meistgelesenen und einflussreichsten Autoren der französischen und europäischen Aufklärung. Mit seiner Kritik an den Missständen des Absolutismus und der Feudalherrschaft sowie an der katholischen Kirche war Voltaire ein Vordenker der Aufklärung und ein wichtiger Wegbereiter der Französischen Revolution.

Voltaire war darüber hinaus ein wichtiger Vordenker für den gesellschaftlichen Toleranz-Gedanken. Seine Schrift „Über die Toleranz“ von 1763, veranlasst durch einen Justizskandal im Jahre 1762, stellte einen wichtigen Meilenstein auf dem Weg zum modernen Rechtsstaat dar und gehört heute zum Grundbestand der Aufklärungsliteratur.

In der Stadt Potsdam lebt der Geist der Aufklärung und Toleranz, was im Leitbild der Stadt öffentlich dokumentiert ist: „Die Stadt Potsdam ist eine Stadt der Vielfalt, Chancengleichheit und Toleranz für alle Menschen, unabhängig von Lebensentwurf, Alter, Geschlecht, Behinderung, Herkunft, Glaube, sexueller Orientierung und Einkommen.“ Gelebt wird dieser Geist in städtischen Projekten wie dem „Neuen Potsdamer Toleranzedikt von 2008“ oder dem Bündnis „Potsdam bekennt Farbe“, an dem die Universität Potsdam beteiligt ist.

Die Universität setzt auf Weltoffenheit und Willkommenskultur

Auch international präsentiert sich die Universität Potsdam gegenüber Partnern in Forschung und Lehre als eine Hochschule, die eng mit dem Gedankengut der Aufklärung von Voltaire und La Mettrie wie auch mit der naturwissenschaftlichen Forschung im 19. Jahrhundert eng verbunden ist. Internationalisierung ist ein integraler Bestandteil der Gesamtstrategie der Universität Potsdam, die dazu beitragen soll, Qualität und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Forschung, Studium und Lehre an der Universität Potsdam weiter zu steigern. Zugleich aber sollen durch die Umsetzung der Internationalisierungsstrategie Weltoffenheit, interkultureller Austausch und Willkommenskultur gefördert werden.

Die Themenfelder von Aufklärung und Toleranz sind in der Forschung der Universität Potsdam fest verankert. So mündeten die Arbeiten von Potsdamer Wissenschaftlern in der Gründung einer gemeinsamen Forschungseinrichtung mit der Stiftung Preußische Schlösser und Gärten zu Beginn dieses Jahres. Ausgehend vom kulturellen und historischen Erbe der Aufklärung und der brandenburgisch-preußischen Geschichte werden in der Forschungsinitiative namens „Research Center Sanssouci“ künftig Zukunftsfragen einer aufgeklärten und demokratischen Wissensgesellschaft thematisiert.

Die Skulptur eines Potsdamer Künstlers

Mit der Erstellung des Voltaire-Preises hat die Universität Potsdam den in Potsdam lebenden Künstler Mikos Meininger beauftragt. Er hat eine etwa  15 cm hohe Figur geschaffen, die den Preisträgern am Tag der Ehrung überreicht wird.

Foto: Mikos Meininger
Der Bildhauer Mikos Meininger hat für den Voltaire-Preis eine Bronzeskulptur geschaffen.