uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

Media Ecology – Knowledge Cultures and Media Environments

The professorship Knowledge Cultures and Media Environments (formerly Media Ecology) is located at the Institute for Arts and Media. It is part of the European Media Studies programme, which is conducted in equal cooperation between the University of Potsdam and the Potsdam University of Applied Sciences. Under the heading of media ecology, the professorship focuses on media-based, networked environments that it develops from the past and present of different knowledge cultures. Four focal points are set, the contents of which are critically questioned. They allow media to be seen as environments and, conversely, the mediality of the environments themselves: Forms of networking and mediated connectivity, media aesthetics, media of nature, as well as the geological conditions of the media (raw materials and energy).

Four perspectives

First, the globally networked circulation of images, texts, goods and data is thematized historically and currently. The focus here is on questions concerning aspects of a technosphere, the historical development of infrastructures and various network formations, as well as the question of which phantasms and visions of the future flow into the ideas of a networked world. Secondly, the professorship is dedicated to a comprehensive history and theory of media environments from a media aesthetic point of view, including data, images, texts and sounds. On the one hand, this is about how media shape perception, often in the sense of a media technology "a priori", be it the view of the software Google Earth, which would be inconceivable without satellite technology, be it the findings of the sciences produced by the media or the special aesthetics of environments in computer games and 360° films. Thirdly, the professorship focuses on the media of nature and the "Umwelt", which also has political ecology in mind in the sense of "environmental protection": The technical-media implementation of the view of natural environments or the media-equipped view of "nature" in the form of perceptive environments such as twittering trees, satellite-supported earth sensing or climate simulations and visualisation based on measurements and data, which are to be investigated here. At present, such media methods are often the first basis for the conditions for an understanding of nature. Finally, fourthly, the perspective of a turnaround in the sense of environments as media should be guiding. This makes the connection between the increasing mediatization and networking of environments and a "geology of the media" appear urgent, which questions the finite resources and material cycles of the media (rare earths, recycling, scrap, energy consumption). The planet Earth, as an object mediated by the media, then appears in the focus of these perspectives rather as a compound of disparate, hybrid and corresponding things, such as atmosphere, hydrosphere and technical infrastructures, whose interfaces and interrelations can only partially be made visible today.

The professorship offers MA and BA students of European Media Studies teaching formats that convey the complex connections between media, infrastructures, networks and materials in relation to perception and media aesthetics (teaching). In order to achieve this, in addition to media scientific research, the history of knowledge and technology as well as the history of ecology in its technical and natural manifestations are included. Teaching is offered in the form of project seminars, a lecture on the media aesthetics of environments, as well as in the form of  research seminars and excursions.

Source: Idea: Birgit Schneider, Drawing: Ruth Lorenz

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

wetterbild 1
wetterbild 2
wetterbild 3
Ruth Lorenz Maaskant 2015

Medienökologie

Die Professur ist am Lehrstuhl Europäische Medienwissenschaft angesiedelt. Der Studiengang ist ein Kooperativstudiengang der Universität und der Fachhochschule Potsdam. Die Professur nimmt Medien unter dem Stichwort Medienökologie mediale, vernetzte Umgebungen in den Blick. Hierbei werden vier Schwerpunkte gesetzt, deren Inhalte kritisch hinterfragt werden. Sie lassen Medien als Umgebungen sowie andersherum die Medialität der Umgebungen selbst betrachten: Formen der Vernetzung bzw. der medienvermittelten Konnektivität, Medienästhetik, Medien der Natur, sowie die geologischen Bedingungen der Medien (Rohstoffe und Energie).

Vier Perspektiven

Erstens wird die global vernetzte Zirkulation von Bildern, Texten, Waren und Daten historisch und aktuell thematisiert. Hier stehen Fragen nach Aspekten einer Technosphäre, der historischen Entwicklung von Infrastrukturen und verschiedenen Netzformationen im Zentrum, sowie die Frage, welche Phantasmen und Zukunftsvisionen in die Vorstellungen einer vernetzten Welt einfließen. Zweitens widmet sich die Professur einer umfassenden Geschichte und Theorie medialer Umgebungen unter medienästhetischen Gesichtspunkten, die Daten, Bilder, Texte und Klänge einschließen. Hier geht es einerseits darum, wie Medien die Wahrnehmung, oftmals im Sinne eines medientechnischen »a priori«, prägen, sei es der Blick auf die ohne Satelliten-Technik nicht denkbare Software Google Earth, seien es die medial hergestellten Erkenntnisse der Wissenschaften oder die besondere Ästhetik von Umgebungen in Computerspielen und 360°-Filmen. Die Professur legt hier, drittens, einen Schwerpunkt auf Medien der Natur bzw. der »Umwelt«, die auch die politische Ökologie im Sinne des „Umweltschutzes“ im Sinn hat: Die technisch-mediale Implementierung des Blicks auf natürliche Umgebungen bzw. den medial ausgerüsteten Blick auf »die Natur« in Form spürender Umgebungen wie twitternder Bäume, als satellitengestütztes Earth Sensoring oder die auf Messungen und Daten basierenden Klimasimulationen und -visualisierung, die es hier zu untersuchen gilt. Derartige mediale Verfahren sind gegenwärtig oftmals die erste Grundlage der Bedingungsmöglichkeiten einer Erkenntnis der Natur. Schließlich soll viertens die Perspektive einer Umkehrung im Sinne von Umgebungen als Medien leitend sein. Diese lässt die Verbindung zwischen der zunehmenden Mediatisierung und Vernetzung von Umwelten und einer »Geologie der Medien« dringlich erscheinen, die die endlichen Ressourcen und Stoffkreisläufe der Medien hinterfragt (seltene Erden, Recycling, Schrott, Energieverbrauch). Der Planet Erde, als medial vermitteltes Objekt, erscheint dann im Fokus dieser Perspektiven eher als Verbund disparater, hybrider und korrespondierender Dinge, wie Atmosphäre, Hydrosphäre und technischer Infrastrukturen, deren Schnittstellen und Wirkzusammenhänge heute erst teilweise sichtbar gemacht werden können. 

Die Professur bietet für MA- und BA-Studierende der Europäischen Medienwissenschaft Veranstaltungsformate an, die die komplexen Zusammenhänge von Medien, Infrastrukturen, Netzen und Materialien in Beziehung zu Wahrnehmung und Medienästhetik vermitteln (à Lehre). Hierzu werden neben medienwissenschaftlichen Forschungen, die Wissens- und Technikgeschichte sowie die Geschichte der Ökologie in ihren technischen wie naturbezogenen Ausprägungen, einbezogen. Die Lehre wird in Form von Projektseminaren, einer Vorlesung zur Medienästhetik der Umgebungen, sowie im Rahmen von Lehrforschungsseminaren und Exkursionen angeboten.