Skip to main content

Awards and Bursaries

GMS logo

Heinz-Zumkley-Prize 2019

The Heinz-Zumkley-Prize of the Society for Minerals and Trace Elements (GMS) will be awarded every second year. In 2019 the awardee lecture will take place at the 7th International Symposium of the Federation of European Societies on Trace Elements and Minerals (FESTEM) together with the 35th Annual GMS Meeting held from the 2nd to 5th of April 2019 in Potsdam, Germany.

The scientific prize aims to recognize exceptional achievements and publications in the field of mineral and trace element research. Its purpose is to broaden the scientific knowledge in this area and to support emerging young scientists at the beginning of their career. The prize is equipped with € 2,500. Candidates should be scientists whose PhD defense is no longer than 6 years ago.

Submitted papers shall satisfy the following requirements:

  • They should cover a topic in the field of minerals and trace elements, with special focus on chemical analysis, the physiology of nutrition, as well as medical, molecular, patho-biochemical and toxicological questions.
  • The paper should be an original research paper evaluated by peer review. It is also possible to submit a doctoral thesis or inaugural dissertations. If the work has been published by several co-authors, the impact of the contestant must be clearly described. Collaborators can also share the award.
  • All co-authors must give their consent to the candidate’s application. Please indicate if the paper is under evaluation for another prize.

The deadline for submission is November 30, 2018. The application should consist of one Pdf file containing a short letter of motivation describing the novelty of the publication/ project, a short curriculum vitae (maximum one page), and the publication(s). Please send the application to the following email address: festem2019uni-potsdamde.

GMS logo

Gabriel Bertrand Prize 2019

The Federation of European Societies on Trace Elements and Minerals (FESTEM) will award the Gabriel Bertrand Prize for the seventh time to outstanding scientists in the field of trace elements and mineral research. This award ceremony is to honor the memory of the great French scientist Gabriel Bertrand, who first introduced the term “trace elements”. The national trace element societies (AISETOV, SEQCET, GMS, RUSTEM, SFERETE) first nominate scientists from all over the world, who have been working in this field for years, and finally select one of them.

Previous award winners:

2001: Thressa C. Stadtman (USA)
2004: Bo Lönnerdal (USA)
2007: Peter Brätter (Germany)
2010: Vadim Gladychev (USA)
2013: R.A. Anderson (USA)
2016: Gianfranco Vivoli (Italy)

GMS logo

Bursary sponsored by GMS

We are happy to announce, that the Society for Minerals and Trace Elements (GMS) provide travel grants (free participation at symposium; travel and hotel costs are not included). Following abstract evaluation these selected PhD students and PostDocs have been awarded by the scientific committee:

  • Vladislava Schulz
  • Tommaso Filippini
  • Urszula Doboszewska
  • Wiebke Alker
  • Louise Rubia Probst Purnhagen
  • Ángeles Martínez Hernanz
  • Riccardo Cabbri
  • Maria Schwarz
  • Olga Ajsuvakova
GMS logo