5. Education for global citizenship and sustainable development – English

“Education for Global Citizenship and Sustainable Development”is one of the 12 sub-projects of the ZeLB project “UP Network for Sustainable Teacher Education”, which is part of the DAAD-funded program “Lehramt.International “(2021-24).

The objectives of the project by the English Department are development, testing, and implementation of university didactic teaching concepts and online-formats (COIL) in the fields of “Education for Global Citizenship and Sustainable Development”. Those teaching offers serve to teach subject-specific and interdisciplinary professional competences to prospective teachers in the field of Education for Sustainable Development and to develop didactic concepts as well as suitable teaching and learning materials. Those will also be made available to the teaching staff. The UN’s 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) from the 2030 agenda serve as a framework for considering social, political, and ecological issues and challenges from multiple perspectives. Prospective teachers of language, social science, and natural science subjects will develop and discuss subject-specific and interdisciplinary approaches and teaching-learning materials in this project.

The development of international online-formats (COIL) and modules in the cooperating subjects at the UP and international partner institutions (among others English, Geography, History), takes place in the form of network meetings, guest lectureships und through participation in student’s summer schools. The development of teaching-learning materials in the learning area global development for the subject English (primary and secondary level) takes place within the framework of regular and interdisciplinary courses as well as project days with partner schools.

The Leibniz Project Week [in German only] is an interdisciplinary, international project that was designed with a campus school on a real-life, relevant topic with the involvement of a German school abroad. Issues of sustainable development are studied and discussed with the school students with ample practical relevance.

Project Leads and contacts:

Prof. Dr. Britta Freitag-Hild
Didactics of English and American Studies with a focus on intercultural learning
Email: freitagh@uni-potsdam.de 
Phone: +49 331/ 977 1458

Prof. Dr. Jana Roos
Didactics of English primary level
Email: jroos@uni-potsdam.de
Phone: +49 331/ 977 1392

Dr. Irene Heidt
Didactics of English secondary level
Email: iheidt@uni-potsdam.de
Phone: +49 331/ 977 153056

Partners at the University of Potsdam:

Prof. Dr. Nina Brendel
Didactics of Geography
Email: ninabrendel@uni-potsdam.de
Phone: +49 331/ 977 251625

Prof. Dr. Amitabh Banerji
Didactics of Chemistry
Email: abanerji@uni-potsdam.de
Phone: + 49 331/ 977 5182

Project Partner Leibniz Project Week:

Dr. phil. Manuela Hackel
Advisor for the Internationalization of Teacher Training (ZeLB)
Email: mhackel@uni-potsdam.de 
Phone: +49 331/ 977 25 6010

Cooperating subjects:

  • Geography
  • Chemistry

International Partners:

Dr. Gigi Peterson
Associate Professor of History – Department of History
State University of New York at Cortland
E-Mail: petersong@cortland.edu

Dr. Howard Nicholas
Adjunct Professor College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce (ASSC)
La Trobe University Melbourne, Australia
E-Mail: h.nicholas@latrobe.edu.au
Web: https://scholars.latrobe.edu.au/display/hrnicholas

Schnellzugriff: von A bis Z

5. Education for global citizenship and sustainable development – Didaktik Englisch

Das Projekt Education for global citizenship and sustainable development ist eins der 12 Teilprojekte des ZeLB-Projekts “UP Network for Sustainable Teacher Education”, welches im Rahmen des DAAD-Programms „Lehramt. International“ (2021-24) gefördert wird. 

Das Projekt im Fach Englisch zielt auf die Entwicklung, Erprobung und Implementierung von hochschuldidaktischen Lehrkonzepten und Online-Formaten (COIL) in den Bereichen „Education for Global Citizenship and Sustainable Development“. Diese Lehrangebote dienen dazu, fachspezifische und fächerübergreifende professionelle Kompetenzen angehender Lehrkräfte im Bereich Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung auszubilden und didaktische Konzepte sowie geeignete Lehr- und Lernmaterialien zu entwickeln, die auch Lehrkräften zur Verfügung gestellt werden sollen. Die 17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) der UN aus der Agenda 2030 dienen als Rahmen, um gesellschaftliche, politische und ökologische Themen und Herausforderungen multiperspektivisch zu betrachten. Angehende Lehrkräfte aus sprachlichen, gesellschafts- und naturwissenschaftlichen Fächern sollen dabei fachspezifische und fächerübergreifende Zugänge und Lehr-Lern-Materialien entwickeln und diskutieren. 

Die Entwicklung internationaler Online-Formate (COIL) und Module in den beteiligten Fächern der Universität Potsdam und der internationalen Partnerinstitutionen (u.a. Englisch, Geografie, Geschichte) findet im Rahmen von Netzwerktreffen, Gastdozenturen und durch die Beteiligung an studentischen Summer Schools statt. Die Entwicklung von Lehr-Lern-Materialien im Lernbereich globale Entwicklung für das Fach Englisch (Primarstufe und Sekundarstufe) erfolgt im Rahmen von regulären und fächerübergreifenden Lehrveranstaltungen sowie von Projekttagen mit Partnerschulen. 

Die Leibniz-Projektwoche ist ein fächerübergreifendes, internationales Projekt, das mit einer Campusschule zu einem lebensnahen, relevanten Thema mit Einbezug einer Deutschen Auslandsschule konzipiert wurde. Thematiken der nachhaltigen Entwicklung werden praxisnah mit den Schüler:innen erarbeitet. 

Weitere Informationen zur Projektwoche finden Sie hier.

Projektleitung

Prof. Dr. Britta Freitag-Hild
Stellvertretende ZeLB-Direktorin
Leitung des DAAD-Projekts “UP Network for Sustainable Teacher Education”
E-Mail: freitagh@uni-potsdam.de 
Tel.: +49 331/ 977 1458

Prof. Dr. Jana Roos
Didaktik des Englischen Primarstufe
E-Mail: jroos@uni-potsdam.de
Tel.: +49 331/ 977 1392

Dr. Irene Heidt
Teaching English as a Foreign Language (TEFL)
E-Mail: iheidt@uni-potsdam.de
Tel.: +49 331/ 977 153056

Projektpartner innerhalb der UP

Prof. Dr. Nina Brendel
Didaktik der Geografie
E-Mail: ninabrendel@uni-potsdam.de
Tel.: +49 331/ 977 251625

Prof. Dr. Amitabh Banerji
Didaktik der Chemie
E-Mail: abanerji@uni-potsdam.de
Tel.: + 49 331/ 977 5182

Projektpartner Leibniz-Projektwoche

Dr. phil. Manuela Hackel
Referentin für die Internationalisierung der Lehrerbildung (ZeLB)
E-Mail: mhackel@uni-potsdam.de 
Tel.: +49 331/ 977 25 6010

Kooperierende Fächer:

  • Geografie
  • Chemie

Internationale Partner

Dr. Gigi Peterson
Associate Professor of History – Department of History
State University of New York at Cortland
E-Mail: petersong@cortland.edu

Dr. Howard Nicholas
Adjunct Professor College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce (ASSC)
La Trobe University Melbourne, Australia
E-Mail: h.nicholas@latrobe.edu.au
Web: https://scholars.latrobe.edu.au/display/hrnicholas