Smart Room Sea Shepherd

Wal
Photo: Sea Shepherd
How can we save our oceans? Our scholarship holders will find out together.

What is the Smart Room "Sea Shepherd"?

How can we preserve our oceans? What possibilities are there to protect whales, dolphins, sharks and rays from humans and to stop illegal fishing? What new tools can support and permanently facilitate the work of marine conservation campaigns? These and other questions will be addressed by the University of Potsdam's "Sea Shepherd" Smart Room, which will begin its work at the start of the 2022/23 winter semester. In this special format of the University Scholarship program, ten students from different disciplines will jointly explore the broad spectrum of methods of marine nature and species conservation.

The Smart Room, whose participants receive a university scholarship, is supported and professionally accompanied by the international marine conservation organization Sea Shepherd. The marine conservation organization has been patrolling the world's oceans for over 40 years, saving countless lives of dolphins, seals, whales, fish and more. Sea Shepherd provides fully equipped vessels, professional crews, fuel and other tools to detect and stop illegal fishing.

The University of Potsdam, together with Sea Shepherd, is organizing four training sessions for the ten students, which will be offered as workshops over the course of a year . The Smart Room will also be in cooperation with the international network of European partner universities in EDUC, in which the University of Potsdam is leading.

Why marine conservation?

In the Smart Room "Sea Shepherd", students from different disciplines, such as the Master "Ecology, Evolution and Conservation" are to face the current challenges of the marine wildlife habitat, which is changing mainly due to human activities. But it is not only the illegal killing of many marine species that poses a significant threat to flora and fauna. The increasing pollution by waste, microplastics and trawls of legal fishing also endanger the future of the oceans and seas - also in Germany.  Therefore, the declared goal must be to protect and preserve our oceans for future generations.

The Smart Room aims to sensitize students to the increasing threat to the oceans from human activity. The Smart Room offers future activists a new framework of thinking with valuable tools and instruments - with which sustainable solutions can be developed, not only in the field of ocean protection, but in nature and climate protection in general.

 


Contact

University Scholarship Potsdam

Advisor

 

Universität Potsdam
Präsidialamt
Am Neuen Palais 10
14469 Potsdam

Smart Room Sea Shepherd

Wal
Foto: Sea Shepherd
Wie können wir unsere Ozeane retten? Unsere Stipendiat*innen wollen es gemeinsam herausfinden.

Was ist der "Smart Room Sea Shepherd"?

Wie können wir unsere Weltmeere erhalten? Welche Möglichkeiten gibt es, Wale, Delfine, Haie und Rochen vor dem Menschen zu schützen und illegale Fischerei zu stoppen? Welche neuen Hilfsmittel können die Arbeit von Meeresschutz-Kampagnen unterstützen und dauerhaft erleichtern? Mit diesen und weiteren Fragen beschäftigt sich der Smart Room „Sea Shepherd“ der Universität Potsdam, der zu Beginn des Wintersemesters 2022/23 seine Arbeit aufnehmen wird. In diesem speziellen Format des Universitätsstipendienprogramms ergründen zehn Studierende aus verschiedenen Disziplinen gemeinsam das breite Methodenspektrum von marinem Natur- und Artenschutz.

Gefördert und fachlich begleitet wird der Smart Room, dessen Teilnehmenden ein Universitätsstipendium erhalten, von der internationalen Meeresschutzorganisation Sea Shepherd. Die Meeresschutzorganisation patrouilliert seit über 40 Jahren auf den Weltmeeren und rettet unzählige Leben von Delfinen, Robben, Walen, Fischen und vielem mehr. Sea Shepherd stellt voll ausgestattete Schiffe, professionelle Besatzungen, Treibstoff und andere Hilfsmittel zur Verfügung, um illegale Fischerei aufzudecken und zu unterbinden.

Die Universität Potsdam organisiert gemeinsam mit Sea Shepherd für die zehn Studierenden vier Weiterbildungen, die über ein Jahr verteilt als Workshops angeboten werden. Der Smart Room Sea Shepherd wird zudem in Kooperation mit Expert*nnen und Wissenschafter*innen der Universität Potsdam stehen.

Warum Meeresschutz?

Im Smart Room „Sea Shepherd“ sollen Studierende aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen, wie zum Beispiel dem Master "Ecology, Evolution and Conservation" sich den aktuellen Herausforderungen des sich vor allem durch Menschenhand verändernden Lebensraumes der marinen Tierwelt stellen. Doch nicht nur die illegale Tötung vieler Meereslebewesen stellt eine erhebliche Bedrohung für die Flora und Fauna dar. Auch die zunehmende Verschmutzung durch Abfall, Mikroplastik und Schleppnetze der legalen Fischerei gefährden die Zukunft der Ozeane und Meere - auch in Deutschland.  Daher muss das erklärte Ziel sein, unsere Ozeane für nachfolgende Generationen zu schützen und das marine Ökosystem zu erhalten.

Mit dem Smart Room sollen Studierende auf die zunehmende Bedrohung der Ozeane durch Menschenhand sensibilisiert werden. Der Smart Room bietet den zukünftigen Aktivist*innen einen neuen Denkrahmen mit wertvollen Werkzeugen und Instrumenten – mit denen sich nachhaltige Lösungen, nicht nur im Bereich des Meereschutzes, sondern im Natur- und Klimaschutz generell, erarbeiten lassen.


Ansprechpartnerin:

Potsdamer Universitätsstipendium

Referentin

 

Universität Potsdam
Präsidialamt
Am Neuen Palais 10
14469 Potsdam