uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

Developmental Psychology - Dr. Matt Hilton

Dr. Matt Hilton

Dr. Matt Hilton

Postdoc in the DFD research group 2253 "Crossing the Borders"

 

Campus Golm
Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 24-25
14476 Potsdam
Bldg 14, Room 1.36

 

consulting hours
by appointment

Matt has worked in the department of developmental psychology since 2016. He works as part of the DFG-funded research group 2253 (Crossing the Borders). His project examines the domain-general processes that underlie the segmentation of speech and action during infancy.

Matt received his PhD in 2016 from Lancaster University under the supervision of Gert Westermann and Katie Twomey. His doctoral work investigated how shyness affects early language development. During his studies, Matt has run research projects in Nivedita Mani’s lab at the University of Göttingen and in Jessica Horst’s lab at the University of Sussex(where he studied for his undergraduate degree).

Publications

Hilton, M., & Westermann, G. (2017). The effect of shyness on children's formation and retention of novel word–object mappings. Journal of Child Language, 44(6), 1394-1412. doi:10.1017/S030500091600057X

Matt Hilton, Katherine E. Twomey & Gert Westermann (2019). Taking their eye off the ball: How shyness affects children's attention during word learning. Journal of Experimental Child Psychology, 183, 134 - 145. doi:10.1016/j.jecp.2019.01.023

Katherine E. Twomey & Matt Hilton (In Press). Word Learning. In S. Hupp, J. D. Jewell, D. T. L. Shek, & Y. Leung (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development (Vol. 7). Wiley.

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

Developmental Psychology - Dr. Matt Hilton

Dr. Matt Hilton

Dr. Matt Hilton

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in der Entwicklungspsychologie

 

Besucheradresse
Campus Golm
Karl-Liebknecht-Str. 24-25
14476 Potsdam
Haus 14, Raum 1.36

 

Sprechzeiten
nach Vereinbarung

Matt arbeitet seit 2016 als Postdoc im Rahmen der DFG-Forschungsgruppe 2253 (Crossing the Borders) am Lehrstuhl für Entwicklungspsychologie an der Universität Potsdam. Sein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Untersuchung von domänenübergreifenden Prozessen, die verantwortlich für die Segmentierung von Sprache und Handlungen während der frühen Kindheit sind.

Matt promovierte 2016 an der Lancaster University (UK) über den Einfluss von Schüchternheit auf die frühe Sprachentwicklung. Betreut wurde seine Arbeit von Gert Westermann und Katie Twomey. Während seines Studiums hat Matt Forschungsprojekte im Labor von Nivedita Mani an der Universität Göttingen und (als B.A.-Student) im Labor von Jessica Horst an der University of Sussex durchgeführt.

Publikationen

Hilton, M., Räling, R., Wartenburger, I., & Elsner, B. (2019). Parallels in processing boundary cues in speech and action. Frontiers in Psychology, 10, Article 1566. doi: 10.3389/fpsyg.2019.01566

Hilton, M., & Westermann, G. (2017). The effect of shyness on children's formation and retention of novel word–object mappings. Journal of Child Language, 44(6), 1394-1412. doi:10.1017/S030500091600057X

Matt Hilton, Katherine E. Twomey & Gert Westermann (2019). Taking their eye off the ball: How shyness affects children's attention during word learning. Journal of Experimental Child Psychology, 183, 134 - 145. doi:10.1016/j.jecp.2019.01.023

Katherine E. Twomey & Matt Hilton (In Press). Word Learning. In S. Hupp, J. D. Jewell, D. T. L. Shek, & Y. Leung (Eds.), Encyclopedia of Child and Adolescent Development (Vol. 7). Wiley.