Interpreter

Interpreters are tasked with transferring spoken or written texts orally into another language [Footnote 1]. This is where they differ from translators, who work with written texts.
Interpreters use various techniques (simultaneous, conference, dialog or whispered interpreting) and work in a variety of areas, such as multi-lingual conferences, media events, conventions, meetings, negotiations and factory tours in companies or as sworn court interpreters for courts, notaries, the police and public authorities.

In addition to excellent foreign language skills, interpreters also need to be familiar with the conventions and modes of expression of the languages and cultures with which they work. In addition, familiarity with the use of technical resources (e.g. equipment for simultaneous or whispered interpreting and computer programs), but also a broad general knowledge – in many cases even special technical knowledge – are essential skills for the profession. Interpreters thoroughly prepare for each assignment, do in-depth research on any persons involved, the subject area and the respective technical terminology. During the interpreting process, it is important to transmit what is being said quickly and correctly. This requires confident conduct, even in stressful situations. In addition, continuous further training is important for interpreters, as languages, cultural customs, but also their fields of specialization are constantly evolving.

Several career paths can lead to the interpreting profession. Among the possible qualifications are degree programs in translation studies at universities and universities of applied sciences. But there is also a growing demand for interpreters specializing in a certain subject area. A specialized degree – e.g. in law, psychology or biology – can therefore be of great advantage for interpreting in the corresponding subject areas. Access to a Master's degree program in translation studies is usually gained by passing an aptitude test. So anyone who has completed a philological or other specialized bachelor's degree program can learn the necessary translational techniques in a postgraduate master's program. Another option for qualification is to train at a professional academy. There are also many who take advantage of a lateral entry into interpreting. Some federal states offer examinations allowing interpreters who pass them to call themselves “state-certified interpreters”. Such a certification may be necessary to become a sworn interpreter at a court, for instance.
Many interpreters are freelancers. It is therefore important to also familiarize oneself with business management issues as a freelancer, for example in marketing, customer acquisition, networking, accounting, taxes (possibly also abroad) and insurance. The Federal Association of Interpreters and Translators (Bundesverband der Dolmetscher und Übersetzer e.V.), for instance, offers suitable advisory services in this regard.

[Footnote 1]:  Sign language interpreters are a particular case: They translate spoken language into sign language and vice versa.

 

Federica Salentino

Federica Salentino

freelance conference interpreter and technical translator for Italian, English and German

Katja Schulten

Katja Schulten

freelance conference interpreter for German, French and English

Typical tasks

Possible places of employment

Sources and further information on the profession

Dolmetscher*in

Aufgabe von Dolmetscher*innen ist es, gesprochene oder geschriebene Texte mündlich in eine andere Sprache zu übertragen [Fußnote 1]. Dabei unterscheiden sie sich von Übersetzer*innen, die sich mit schriftlichen Texten befassen.
Dolmetscher*innen verwenden verschiedene Techniken (Simultan-, Konsekutiv-, Gesprächs- und Flüsterdolmetschen) und werden in vielfältigen Bereichen eingesetzt, zum Beispiel auf mehrsprachigen Konferenzen, Medienevents und Kongressen, bei Meetings, Verhandlungen und Werksführungen in Unternehmen oder als beeidigte Gerichtsdolmetscher*innen bei Gerichten, Notaren, Polizei und Behörden.

Zusätzlich zu hervorragenden Fremdsprachkenntnissen müssen sich Dolmetscher*innen mit den Gepflogenheiten und Ausdrucksweisen der Sprachen und Kulturen auskennen, mit denen sie arbeiten. Zudem sind der sichere Umgang mit technischen Hilfsmitteln (zum Beispiel Simultan- oder Flüsteranlagen und Computerprogramme), aber auch eine breit gefächerte Allgemeinbildung ­– in vielen Fällen sogar spezielle Fachkenntnisse – wesentliche Kompetenzen für den Beruf. Dolmetscher*innen bereiten sich intensiv auf jeden Auftrag vor, betreiben gründliche Recherche zu den beteiligten Personen, zum Themengebiet und der dazugehörigen Fachterminologie. Während des Dolmetschens kommt es dann auf die schnelle und korrekte Übertragung des Gesagten an. Dafür braucht es ein souveränes Auftreten, auch in stressigen Situationen. Zudem ist stetige Weiterbildung für den Beruf wichtig, da sich Sprachen, kulturelle Umgangsformen, aber auch Fachgebiete immer weiterentwickeln.

In den Beruf des/der Dolmetscher*in führen verschiedene Wege. Eine Möglichkeit der Qualifikation sind translationswissenschaftliche Studiengänge an Universitäten und Fachhochschulen. Doch auch fachlich spezialisierte Dolmetscher*innen sind immer mehr gefragt. Ein Fachstudium, wie zum Beispiel in Jura, Psychologie oder Biologie, kann daher für das Dolmetschen in entsprechenden Themenbereichen von großem Vorteil sein. Der Zugang zu einem translationswissenschaftlichen Masterstudiengang erfolgt meist über eine Eignungsprüfung. Wer also im Bachelor ein philologisches oder fachliches Studium absolviert hat, kann in einem weiterführenden Masterstudium die erforderlichen translatorischen Arbeitstechniken erlernen. Eine andere Qualifizierungsmöglichkeit ist eine Ausbildung an einer Fachakademie. Zudem gibt es viele Quereinsteiger*innen. Einige Bundesländer bieten Prüfungen an, mit denen sich Dolmetscher*innen als „Staatlich geprüfter Dolmetscher“ bezeichnen dürfen. Solch eine Zertifizierung kann beispielsweise für die Beeidigung vor Gericht notwendig sein.
Viele Dolmetscher*innen arbeiten freiberuflich. Daher ist es wichtig, sich als Freiberufler*in auch mit betriebswirtschaftlichen Fragen zu befassen, zum Beispiel zu Marketing, Kundenakquise, Networking, Buchhaltung, Steuern (ggf. auch im Ausland) und Versicherung. Entsprechende Beratungsangebote gibt es beispielsweise beim Bundesverband der Dolmetscher und Übersetzer e.V.

[Fußnote 1]: Gebärdensprachdolmetscher*innen sind hierbei ein Sonderfall: Sie übersetzen Lautsprache in Gebärdensprache und umgekehrt.

 

Federica Salentino

Federica Salentino

freiberufliche Konferenzdolmetscherin und Fachübersetzerin für die Sprachen Italienisch, Englisch und Deutsch

Katja Schulten

Katja Schulten

freiberufliche Konferenzdolmetscherin für die Sprachen Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch

klassische Tätigkeiten

mögliche Arbeitsorte

Quellen und weitere Berufsinformationen