SPC - Workshops

Titelbild mit zwei Robotern mit einem Dosentelefon zur Ankündigung von Workshops beim Spot on PoGS Community
Photo: AdobeStock | PoGS

10:30 - 12:00 AM - Workshops

You want to improve your science communication skills? You would like to train the right handling of media? Would you like to get ideas on how to get to the heart of your research? Then train your skills in one of our four workshops.

The following workshops are available for selection:

  • Science Communication - Basics (ENG)
  • Pitch your Science (GER)
  • Showcasing Science – Social Media (ENG)
  • Scientists in the media spotlight (GER)

The four workshops will take place in parallel. For better planning on our part, we ask you to indicate which workshop you would like to attend when you register for Spot on PoGS Community. On the day itself, you can then sign up for the corresponding workshop on a first come - first served basis. Please note that there are limited numbers of participants for the workshops.

Poträt von Monika Wimmer
Photo: M. Wimmer

Science communication - Basics (ENG)

How do we deal with the climate crisis? How will Artificial Intelligence change the way we live? And how can we protect ourselves against diseases like CoViD-19? Science knows a lot of answers to the burning questions our society faces. If scientists want non-experts to understand these complex issues, they need to get out and tell their stories – competently and comprehensively. This mini-workshop provides basic know-how for you to get there. Its main focus is on writing: It gives practical advice on what you need to do to get your story across to a broad non-expert audience.

 

Monika Wimmer
Monika Wimmer holds degrees in international cultural and business studies and in science journalism. After working at the science desk of the Berliner Zeitung, she went on to work in the Berliner Journalistenbüro, where she wrote for Bild der Wissenschaft and Psychologie heute and produced radio features for rbb, SWR, and WDR. She is a Duke University Media Fellow (USA) and Communications Officer for the Socio Economic Panel (SOEP) at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW Berlin). She has completed training in mediated communication at the Europäischer Hochschulverbund (EHV). Monika Wimmer is a certified mediator and coach.

Poträt von Monika Wimmer
Photo: M. Wimmer

Sina Metz
Photo: S. Metz

Pitch your Science (GER)

Research on point. Transport content, questions and results in a few sentences and arouse the audience's curiosity about your research. Addressing the peer group in a direct way also plays an important role. The workshop presents the 10 golden rules of pitching and puts the skills directly into practice. Just as compact as a pitch - in 90 minutes.

 

 

Sina Metz
Sina Metz is editor of the portal Wissenschaftskommunikation.de at Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD). The biochemist previously completed a traineeship in WiD's online communication department, during that time she also interned in the knowledge department of DIE ZEIT in Hamburg.

Sina Metz
Photo: S. Metz

Porträt Dr. Katja Flieger
Photo: Dr. K. Flieger

Showcasing Science – Social Media (ENG)

Sharing knowledge easier and with more people than ever before – that’s Social Media. Still, gaining knowledge is just one part of it. Self-marketing is just as necessary for scientists moving up the academic ladder.  Which channel is good for which purpose? The workshop provides an overview on social media channels that are relevant for scientists. You evaluate best practice examples published by successful scientists – and you develop implementation options for your own Social Media presentation.


Dr. Katja Flieger
Dr. Katja Flieger is a medical doctor with a degree in science journalism. She has worked as an online health editor for Bayerischer Rundfunk and Bertelsmann Springer among other media outlets. She is the owner and operator of the Berlin editorial office KonTextGesundheit, founded in 2003. She conceptualizes multimedia specials and reports on developments in medicine worldwide—from Kabul to Chicago. She studied transactional analysis according to Eric Berne with Prof. Norbert Harlander (Universität St. Gallen) and motivational interviewing (Universität Marburg).

Porträt Dr. Katja Flieger
Photo: Dr. K. Flieger

Rebecca Winkels
Photo: R. Winkels

Scientists in the media spotlight (GER)

From climate change to the gender debate to the Corona pandemic, scientific research is an important basis for many social challenges. This is one of many reasons why scientists are in the media spotlight more than they have ever been before. This interactive workshop aims to develop the proper use of media and create awareness of the challenges that media may confront academics.

 

Rebecca Winkels
Rebecca Winkels is head of communication and strategy at Wissenschaft im Dialog. As a biologist and science journalist, she has been working in science communication in various positions for 10 years and is currently doing a part-time PhD in science communication at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology.

Rebecca Winkels
Photo: R. Winkels

SPC - Workshops

Titelbild mit zwei Robotern mit einem Dosentelefon zur Ankündigung von Workshops beim Spot on PoGS Community
Foto: AdobeStock | PoGS

10:30 - 12:00 Uhr - Workshops

Sie möchten Ihre Wissenschaftskommunikations-Skills verbessern? Sie möchten den richtigen Umgang mit Medien trainieren? Sie möchten Anregungen bekommen, wie Sie Ihre Forschung auf den Punkt bringen können? Dann trainieren Sie Ihre Kompetenzen in einen unserer vier Workshops.

Folgende Workshops stehen zur Auswahl:

  • Wissenschaftskommunikation - Basics (EN)
  • Pitch your Science (DE)
  • Forschung zeigen - Social media (EN)
  • Wissenschaftler*innen im medialen Fokus (DE)

Die vier Workshops finden parallel statt. Für eine bessere Planung unsererseits bitten wir Sie, bei Ihrer Anmeldung zu Spot on PoGS Community anzugeben, welchen Workshop Sie gerne besuchen möchten. Am Tag selber können Sie sich dann nach dem Prinzip First Come - First Serve in die Liste für den entsprechenden Workshop eintragen. Bitte beachten Sie, dass es für die Workshops begrenzte Teilnehmendenzahlen gibt.

Poträt von Monika Wimmer
Foto: M. Wimmer

Wissenschaftskommunikation - Basics (EN)

Wie kommen wir aus der Klimakrise? Inwiefern könnte Künstliche Intelligenz unseren Alltag verändern? Und wie gelingt es, uns vor Krankheiten wie Covid-19 zu schützen? Die Wissenschaft gibt Antworten auf drängende gesellschaftliche Fragen. Damit auch Laien diese verstehen, müssen Forschende ihre Geschichten erzählen - kompetent und verständlich. Wie das konkret geht, erfahren Sie in diesen Kurzworkshops. Im Workshop erfahren Sie mit dem Fokus auf Schreiben, wie Sie ihre Texte einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen inklusive praktischer Übungen.

 

Monika Wimmer
Monika Wimmer ist Diplom-Kulturwirtin und ausgebildete Wissenschaftsjournalistin. Von der Wissenschaftsredaktion der Berliner Zeitung wechselte sie in das Berliner Journalistenbüro und berichtete u. a. für Bild der Wissenschaft und Psychologie heute sowie die Feature-Redaktionen von rbb, SWR und WDR. Sie ist Media Fellow der Duke University (USA) und seit 2011 am Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung für die Außenkommunikation des „Sozio-Oekonomischen Panels“ (SOEP) verantwortlich. Ausbildung in mediativer Kommunikation beim europäischen Hochschulverband (EHV). Monika Wimmer ist zertifizierte Mediatorin und Coach.

Poträt von Monika Wimmer
Foto: M. Wimmer

Sina Metz
Foto: S. Metz

Pitch your Science (DE)

Forschung auf den Punkt gebracht. Inhalte, Fragestellungen und Ergebnisse in wenigen Sätzen transportieren und Zuhörer*innen auf Ihre Forschung neugierig machen. Dabei spielt vor allem auch die gezielte Ansprache der Zielgruppe eine Rolle. In diesem Workshop werden die 10 goldenen Pitch-Regeln vorgestellt und die Skills direkt angewendet. Kompakt wie ein Pitch - in 90 Minuten.

 

Sina Metz
Sina Metz ist als Redakteurin des Portals Wissenschaftskommunikation.de bei Wissenschaft im Dialog (WiD) tätig. Die studierte Biochemikerin hat zuvor ein Volontariat in der Online-Kommunikation von WiD absolviert, in dessen Rahmen sie auch im Wissen-Ressort der DIE ZEIT in Hamburg hospitierte.

Sina Metz
Foto: S. Metz

Porträt Dr. Katja Flieger
Foto: Dr. K. Flieger

Forschung zeigen - Social media (EN)

Wissen so einfach und mit so vielen Menschen teilen wie nie zuvor – das kann Social Media. Der Erkenntnisgewinn für alle ist nur eine Seite der Medaille. Für die einzelnen Forschenden ist das Selbstmarketing auf dem Weg durch die Hierarchien ebenso wichtig. Was kann ich wofür nutzen? Der Workshop bietet einen Überblick über für Wissenschaftler*innen relevante Social Media Kanäle. Sie lernen von Best-Practice-Beispielen erfolgreicher Wissenschaftler*innen und entwickeln Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten für den eigenen Social Media Auftritt.

 

Dr. Katja Flieger
Dr. Katja Flieger ist Ärztin und ausgebildete Wissenschaftsjournalistin. Sie hat als Online-Gesundheitsredakteurin u. a. für den Bayerischen Rundfunk und Bertelsmann Springer gearbeitet. Seit 2003 ist sie Inhaberin des Berliner Redaktionsbüros KonTextGesundheit. Sie konzipiert Themenspecials mit besonderem Focus auf Multimedia-Publishing und berichtet über Medizin weltweit – von Kabul bis Chicago. Ausbildung in Transaktionsanalyse nach Eric Berne bei Prof. Norbert Harlander (Universität St. Gallen) und motivierender Gesprächsführung (Universität Marburg).

Porträt Dr. Katja Flieger
Foto: Dr. K. Flieger

Rebecca Winkels
Foto: R. Winkels

Wissenschaftler*innen im medialen Fokus (DE)

Ob Klimawandel, Genderdebatte oder Corona-Pandemie, wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse sind für viele gesellschaftliche Herausforderung eine wichtige Basis. Auch deshalb stehen Wissenschaftler*innen so stark im medialen Fokus wie selten zuvor. In diesem interaktiven Workshop soll daher der richtige Umgang mit den Medien trainiert und ein Bewusstsein für die medialen Herausforderungen an die Wissenschaft geschaffen werden.

 

Rebecca Winkels
Rebecca Winkels leitet die Kommunikation und Strategie von Wissenschaft im Dialog. Die studierte Biologin und Wissenschaftsjournalistin arbeitet seit 10 Jahren in verschiedenen Funktionen in der Wissenschaftskommunikation und promoviert derzeit nebenberuflich am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie in Wissenschaftskommunikation.

Rebecca Winkels
Foto: R. Winkels