uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

European Masters in Clinical Linguistics | Master

The European Master in Clinical Linguistics (EMCL) is part of the Erasmus Mundus Excellence Program and is offered in cooperation between the University of Potsdam, the University of Groningen in the Netherlands, and the University of Eastern Finland in Joensuu. You will therefore study at the University of Potsdam as well as at the two partner universities. All three institutions enjoy an excellent reputation in the area of psycho/neurolinguistics and in clinical linguistics.

THE PROGRAM AT A GLANCE
NameEuropean Masters in Clinical Linguistics
DegreeMaster of Science
Standard period of study4 semesters
Credit points120
Language of instruction
English
Start of study (1st semester)Winter semester
CampusGolm

Program Content

The Program is designed as an interdisciplinary course of study with specializations in the following areas:

  • Neurolinguistics
  • Clinical Linguistics
  • Psycholinguistics

During your first month of the EMCL you will be in Potsdam for propaedeutics. In that time you will learn about the fundamentals of the program and attend introductory courses in the areas of linguistics (syntax, semantics, phonology) as well as statistics and methods (including experimental linguistics).

You will spend the remainder of your first semester at one of the two partner universities, were you will attend language and culture courses as well as coordinated research seminars.

You will continue with your second semester at the University of Potsdam, which will follow up on the content of the first semester. In addition, you will attend courses on neurological rehabilitation, speech therapy, neurolinguistics, or speech diagnostics. The subsequent instruction-free period will give you time to develop an abstract for your Master’s thesis, to prepare for the internship that is a mandatory part of your Master’s thesis, and to participate in the international conference “The Science of Aphasia.”

You will spend your third semester either in Joennsu or in Groningen and attend research seminars on topics such as neuroimaging, clinical aphasiology / cross linguistic aphasiology, and developmental dyslexia / language development disorders. In addition, you can participate in excursions and colloquia.

During your last semester, you will complete internships and write your Master’s thesis.

Course Objective and Future Career Options

The goal of the EMCL Program is to acquire substantial knowledge in psycho- and neurolinguistics as well as in speech diagnostic and therapeutic theories and methods. In addition, you will learn about speech and language disorders and acquire experimental and methodological skills that are of great importance, e.g., in developing diagnostic and therapeutic materials on speech and language disorders.

The program concludes with a joint Master’s degree (M.Sc. European Masters in Clinical Linguistics) by the three participating universities.

The excellent training in the area of Clinical Linguistics prepares you for future work in research or a dissertation.

Prerequisites for Admission to the Master’s Program

The general prerequisite for enrolling in a Master’s program is a first academic degree that qualifies you for a profession, e.g., a Bachelor’s degree. Your first degree should be in Speech Therapy, Linguistics, Psychology, Principles and Methods of Teaching Speech Therapy, Biomedical Sciences, or another related discipline.

If English is not your native language, and it was not the language of instruction for your first university degree, you will also need to provide proof of sufficient knowledge of English. English competence can be demonstrated with an appropriate test score (TOEFL: at least 250 points for the computerized test, 600 points for the paper-based test or 100 points for the internet based test; or IELTS = 7.0).

Program Structure

During the four semesters of the Master’s program you will earn a total of 120 credit points (CP) from the following modules and your final thesis. For additional information on specific modules, please consult the subject-specific Degree Regulations or the Departmental Advisory Office.

CONTENT AND CREDIT POINTS

Modules

Credit points

Propaedeutics (Introductory and Intensive Courses) 10 CP
Language and Culture Courses (Finnish, Dutch, German)10 CP
Methods (including Statistics and Experimental Linguistics)  5-20 CP
(depending on the place of study in the 1st and 3rd semester)
Psycho / Neurolinguistics (including Neuroimaging)10-35 CP
(depending on the place of study in the 1st and 3rd semester)
Clinical Linguistics (Aphasia, Dyslexia, Language Development Disorders, Speech Disorders)  10-45 CP
(depending on the place of study in the 1st and 3rd semester)
Master’s Thesis (including Academic Writing, Exposé, Internship) 30 CP
Research (Colloquium, Reading Group, Excursions, Conference)
Total120 CP

Advantages at a Glance

  • a joint degree from the three participating universities
  • two integrated study abroad periods at the partner universities
  • as part of the Erasmus Mundus Excellence Initiative, the EMCL program also awards fellowships to students from European and non-European countries

Application

Are you interested in studying for the English-language master’s degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the University of Potsdam? Then you should take the next step on the application pages to find out more about current application and enrollment procedures.

Departmental Advising

Dr. Roel Jonkers | Departmenatal Advising for students from EU-member states
Telephone: +31 50 363-6129
E-Mail: r.jonkers@rug.nomorespam.nl
Adresse: University of Groningen, 9712 EK Groningen, NL | Oude Kijk in 't Jatstraat 26, room: 1312.0419

PD Dr. Frank Burchert | Departmental Advising for students from non-EU-member states
Telephone: +49 331 977-2347
E-Mail: burchert@uni-potsdam.nomorespam.de
Adresse: University of Potsdam, Campus Golm | House 14, room 2.07

This description is based in part on the information provided by the Program-Specific Regulation for the M.Sc. European Masters in Clinical Linguistics at the University of Potsdam, dated 24 September 2009 (AmBek Nr. 12/10, S. 172).

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

European Masters in Clinical Linguistics | Master

Der European Master in Clinical Linguistics (EMCL) ist Teil des Erasmus Mundus Excellence Program und wird gemeinsam von der Universität Potsdam mit der niederländischen University of Groningen und der University of Eastern Finland in Joensuu angeboten. Sie studieren daher sowohl an der Universität Potsdam als auch an den beiden Partneruniversitäten, die alle drei einen exzellenten Ruf auf dem Gebiet der Psycho-/Neurolinguistik und der klinischen Linguistik haben.

STUDIENGANG AUF EINEN BLICK
BezeichnungEuropean Masters in Clinical Linguistics
AbschlussMaster of Science
Regelstudienzeit4 Semester
Leistungspunkte120
LehrspracheEnglisch
Studienbeginn zum 1. FachsemesterWintersemester
CampusGolm

Inhalt des Studiums

Der Studiengang ist interdisziplinär aufgebaut und bietet Ihnen Schwerpunktsetzungen in:

  • Neurolinguistik
  • Klinischer Linguistik
  • Psycholinguistik

Den ersten Monat des EMCL verbringen Sie zwecks einer gemeinsamen Propädeutik in Potsdam. In dieser Zeit besuchen Sie neben einer Einführung in das Programm Einführungskurse aus den Bereichen Linguistik (Syntax, Semantik, Phonologie) sowie Statistik und Methoden (einschließlich experimentelle Linguistik).

Den Rest des ersten Semesters verbringen Sie an einer der beiden Partneruniversitäten, wo Sie sowohl Sprach- und Landeskundekurse als auch koordinierte Forschungsseminare besuchen.

Inhaltlich daran anknüpfend setzen Sie Ihr zweites Semester an der Universität Potsdam fort und belegen zusätzlich Kurse zur neurologischen Rehabilitation, Sprachtherapie, Neurolinguistik oder Sprachdiagnostik.

Die nachfolgende vorlesungsfreie Zeit dient Ihnen dazu, ein Exposé zu Ihrer Masterarbeit zu erstellen sowie das für die Masterarbeit notwendige Praktikum vorzubereiten und an der internationalen Konferenz "The Science of Aphasia" teilzunehmen.

Das dritte Semester verbringen Sie entweder in Joensuu oder in Groningen und besuchen dort Forschungsseminare zu Themen wie Neuroimaging, klinischer Aphasiologie/ cross-linguistische Aphasiologie, Entwicklungsdyslexien/ Sprachentwicklungsstörungen. Zusätzlich können Sie an Exkursionen und Kolloquien teilnehmen.

Im letzten Semester absolvieren Sie Praktika und fertigen Ihre Masterarbeit an.

Studienziel und zukünftige Arbeitsfelder

Ziel des EMCL-Studiengangs ist es, fundiertes Wissen über Psycho- und Neurolinguistik sowie über sprachdiagnostische und -therapeutische Theorien und Methoden zu erwerben. Darüber hinaus werden Ihnen wichtige Kenntnisse von Sprech- und Sprachstörungen sowie experimentell-methodische Fertigkeiten vermittelt, die u.a. notwendige Voraussetzungen für die Entwicklung von diagnostischen und therapeutischen Materialien bei Sprech- und Sprachstörungen darstellen.

Das Studium schließt mit einem gemeinsamen Masterabschluss (M.Sc. European Masters in Clinical Linguistics) der drei beteiligten Universitäten ab.

Durch die exzellente Ausbildung im Bereich Clinical Linguistics werden Sie auf zukünftige Forschungsaufgaben und/ oder eine Promotion vorbereitet.

Voraussetzungen zum Masterstudium

Generell ist die Voraussetzung für ein Masterstudium ein erster berufsqualifizierender akademischer Abschluss, z.B. mit dem Bachelorgrad. Den ersten Studienabschluss sollten Sie in Sprachtherapie, Linguistik, Psychologie, Sprachheilpädagogik, biomedizinischen Wissenschaften oder einer verwandten Disziplin erworben haben.

Sofern Englisch weder Ihre Muttersprache ist, noch die Unterrichtssprache Ihrer ersten Hochschulausbildung war, benötigen Sie darüber hinaus einen Nachweis über ausreichende Englischkenntnisse, den Sie durch ein entsprechendes Testergebnis (TOEFL mindestens 250 Punkte computer-basiert, 600 Punkte papier-basiert oder 100 Punkte internetbasiert; IELTS = 7.0) bescheinigen können.

Die fachspezifischen Zugangsvoraussetzungen können Sie den jeweiligen Zulassungsordnungen entnehmen.

Aufbau des Studiums

Im Rahmen des viersemestrigen Studiengangs erbringen Sie insgesamt 120 Leistungspunkte aus den folgenden Modulen und Ihrer Abschlussarbeit. Für weitere Informationen konsultieren Sie bitte die fachspezifische Studienordnung oder die Studienfachberatung.

STUDIENINHALTE UND LEISTUNGSUMFANG

Module

Leistungspunkte

Propädeutik (Einführungs- und Intensivkurse) 10 LP
Sprach- und Landeskundekurse (Finnisch, Niederländisch, Deutsch) 10 LP
Methoden (einschließlich Statistik und Experimentelle Linguistik) 5-20 LP (in Abhängigkeit vom Studienort im 1. und 3. Semester)
Psycho-/ Neurolinguistik (einschließlich Neuroimaging) 10-35 LP (in Abhängigkeit vom Studienort im 1. und 3. Semester)
Klinische Linguistik (Aphasie, Dyslexie, Sprachentwicklungsstörungen, Sprechstörungen) 10-45 LP (in Abhängigkeit vom Studienort im 1. und 3. Semester)
Masterarbeit (einschließlich Wissenschaftliches Schreiben, Exposé, Praktikum)30 LP
Forschungsextras (Kolloquium, Lesekreis, Exkursionen, Konferenz) 
Summe120 LP

Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • Joint Degree, d.h. ein gemeinsamer Abschluss der drei beteiligten Universitäten
  • Zwei integrierte Auslandsaufenthalte an den Partnerhochschulen
  • Als Teil der Erasmus Mundus Excellenz Initiative, vergibt der EMCL-Studiengang Stipendien an Studierende aus europäischen und nicht-europäischen Ländern

Bewerbung zum Studium

Sie haben sich entschieden, den European Master in Clinical Linguistics im EMCL Konsortium Potsdam zu studieren? Dann sollten Sie sich im nächsten Schritt auf den Bewerbungsseiten über das aktuelle Bewerbungs- und Immatrikulationsverfahren informieren.

Studienfachberatung

Dr. Roel Jonkers | Studienfachberatung für die Studierende aus EU-Länder
Telefon: +31 50 363-6129
E-Mail: r.jonkers@rug.nl
Adresse: University of Groningen, 9712 EK Groningen, NL | Oude Kijk in 't Jatstraat 26, Zi. 1312.0419

PD Dr. Frank Burchert | Studienfachberatung für die Studierende aus nicht EU-Länder
Telefon: +49 331 977-2347
E-Mail: burchert@uni-potsdam.de
Adresse: Universität Potsdam, Campus Golm | Haus 14, Zi. 2.07

Diese Beschreibung basiert z.T. auf Angaben der Neufassung der Ordnung für den englischsprachigen Erasmus Mundus Masterstudiengang M.Sc. European Masters in Clinical Linguistics angeboten vom EMCL-Universitätskonsortium unter der Federführung der Universität Potsdam vom 24. September 2009 (AmBek Nr. 12/10, S. 172).