uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

Social Psychology

Chair: Prof. Dr. Barbara Krahé

Secretary: Nicole Düngel

Research Focus

Our main research activities lie in the field of Applied Social Psychology, in particular Aggression Research, and currently focus on these thematic areas:

1. Impact of violent media on aggression
Longitudinal and experimental studies on the effects of exposure to violence in the media on aggressive cognition, affect and behavior, including the development and evaluation of an intervention program to mitigate the adverse effects of violent media use in adolescence.

2. Sexual aggression: Prevalence and risk factors in a cross-cultural perspective
Large-scale longitudinal and cross-sectional studies in Germany, Poland, Turkey, Brazil, Chile as well as a range of further EU countries on the prevalence and risk factors of sexual aggression from both the victim and the perpetrator perspectives in women and men.

3. Social information processing of sexual assault
Studies on the role of myths and stereotypes about sexual assault in attributions of blame to victims and more generally decision making in a judicial context against the background of high attrition rates in sexual assault cases.

4. Development of aggressive behavior in childhood and adolescence
Longitudinal studies on the role of maladaptive anger regulation, social rejection, academic failure, and affiliation with deviant peers in the development of aggressive behavior and multi-level analyses examining the impact of the peer environment.

5. Prevention of aggression
Experimental studies on the buffering of the effect of frustration on aggression by eliciting internal states, such as humor, that are incompatible with aggression.

International cooperations are in place with colleagues at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Iowa State University, Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense, University of Granada, and Macquarie University, Sydney.

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

Professur für Sozialpsychologie

Leitung: Prof. Dr. Barbara Krahé

Sekretariat: Nicole Düngel

Forschungsschwerpunkte

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Arbeitsgruppe liegen im Bereich der Angewandten Sozialpsychologie, speziell der Aggressionsforschung und lassen sich aktuell folgenden Themenbereichen zuordnen: 

1. Wirkung gewalthaltiger Medien auf aggressives Verhalten
Längsschnittstudien und Experimente zum Einfluss des Konsums gewalthaltiger Medien auf aggressive Kognitionen, Affekte und Verhaltensweisen sowie Entwicklung und Evaluation eines Interventionsprogramms zur Reduktion des Mediengewaltkonsums im Jugendalter.

2. Sexuelle Aggression: Prävalenz und Risikofaktoren aus kulturvergleichender Sicht
Großangelegte Studien im Längsschnitt und Querschnitt in Deutschland, Polen, der Türkei, Brasilien, und Chile sowie aus weiteren Ländern der EU zu Verbreitungsgrad und Risikofaktoren sexueller Aggression aus Opfer- und Täterperspektive bei Frauen und Männern.

3. Soziale Informationsverarbeitung im juristischen Kontext
Studien zur Bedeutung von Stereotypen und Mythen über sexuelle Gewalt auf die Zuschreibung von Verantwortung an Opfer und Täter vor dem Hintergrund hoher Schwundquoten bei der strafrechtlichen Verfolgung sexueller Übergriffe.

4. Entwicklung aggressiven Verhaltens in Kindheit und Jugendalter
Längsschnittstudien zur Bedeutung maladaptiver Ärgerregulation, sozialer Zurückweisung, schulischem Misserfolg und Anbindung an deviante Peers für die Entwicklung aggressiven Verhaltens und Mehrebenen-Analysen  zum Einfluss der Peer-Gruppe auf individuelle Entwicklungsverläufe.

5. Prävention aggressiven Verhaltens
Experimentelle Studien zur Abschwächung der Beziehung zwischen Frustration und Aggression durch Auslösen von Reaktionen, wie z.B. Humor, die mit Aggression inkompatibel sind.

Internationale Kooperationen bestehen mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen der University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, der Iowa State University, der Université Paris Ouest Nanterre La Défense, der Universität Granada, und der Macquarie University, Sydney.