uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

Photo: Veronica Bohm

Competence – Function – Variation. Linguistica Coseriana V.    International Conference at the University of Potsdam, October 8 - 10, 2015

Photo: Veronica Bohm

Call for Papers

In non-formal linguistics, the terms ‛competence’, ‛function’ and ‛variation’ have found considerable further development and diversification in recent decades. Some approaches can be traced back to Eugenio Coseriu (1921-2002), but however connect his theoretical sketches with empirical studies and provide links to other explanations of linguistic competence, theories of functional linguistics and models of variational linguistics.

In recent years, four international conferences have taken place that were dedicated to the language-theoretical legacy of Eugenio Coseriu: 2007 in Aix-en-Provence (France), 2009 in Cluj (Romania), 2011 in Almería (Spain) and 2013 in Udine (Italy). We not only take up the concerns of these conferences, but rather want to stimulate the discussion on the present research in the field of the concepts ‛competence’, ‛function’ and ‛variation’.

The term competence not only includes the knowledge of the system of a single language, but in addition to this idiomatic knowledge also the general-linguistic, elocutional knowledge and the expressive knowledge of discourse competence. Inspired by generative theory, Coseriu coined the term competence, which is essential in linguistics of parole. Linguistic knowledge was defined by Coseriu in the Leibnizian sense as cognitio clara distincta inadaequata, i.e. it explained the object of knowledge not as reflective, but as clear and identifying the object distinctly. Is this explanation valid in view of the present state of research on linguistic competence and how can the procedural character of language competence be explained? Even the discourse traditions which turned into historical norms passed down by tradition are acquired and passed on as part of linguistic competence. What explanatory potential can be attributed to discourse traditions? To what extent are they recognizable as more or less uniform phenomenon in different languages?

Many directions of linguistics claim to describe the function of linguistic units, often without being aware of each other or without developing an awareness of the polysemy of the word function in linguistics. For Coseriu, functions are based on structures, and additionally he is interested in functional categories and functions of forms. The concept of a 'functional language' combines the language-internal functions of structures of the langue with the language-external, communicative functions of functional languages in the parole. The concept of functional language enabled Coseriu to propose an elegant solution for the hypothesis of a language system: Only the functional language which is in itself homogenous without variations appears structurally systematic, whereas a historical language has an architecture in which several functional languages are combined and can be combined with each other. Given this perspective, what can be achieved by structural functional approaches and how have they been developed further in recent years?  What possibilities do corpora offer for the description of linguistic functions? How has generative linguistics changed through the inclusion of functional categories?

With his model of diatopic, diastratic, diaphasic and diachronic variation, Coseriu created a starting point for variation-linguistic research, which was widely taken up and developed further. In particular, with the assumption of transitional forms between oral and written language and language of nearness and distance, distinct forms, but intertwining as gradata, the possibilities of a differentiated analysis of linguistic variation increase. At the object level, language variation and language change are identical when they are seen as consequence of the historicity of natural languages. On the observational level, linguistic change appears to be a prerequisite for language variation or variation as a condition for future change. What developments in language historiography take into account a merging of the object and the observational level? If an idiolect comprises several functional languages, is this variation competence then comparable to the command of several languages? How can the linguistic competence of a multilingual individual be explained? How can linguistic variation be described in language contact situations?

We are looking for contributions that provide theoretically based answers to some of these and additional questions, which can also be empirically founded. Our objective is not primarily an exegesis of Coserius’ texts, but rather productive further developments of a linguistics that is competence-oriented, functional and takes linguistic variation into consideration.

Venue

Campus at the New Palace of the University of Potsdam.

Working Languages

The working languages of the Congress are German, English and Romance languages.

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

Foto: Veronica Bohm

Kompetenz – Funktion – Variation. Linguistica Coseriana V.   Internationale Tagung an der Universität Potsdam, 8.-10. Oktober 2015

Foto: Veronica Bohm

Call for Papers

In der nichtformalen Linguistik haben die Begriffe ‛Kompetenz’, ‛Funktion’ und ‛Variation’ in den letzten Jahrzehnten eine beachtliche Weiterentwicklung und Diversifizierung gefunden. Einige Ansätze gehen dabei von Eugenio Coseriu (1921-2002) aus, verbinden dessen theoretische Skizzen jedoch mit empirischen Untersuchungen und stellen Verbindungen zu anderen Erklärungen sprachlicher Kompetenz, Theorien der funktionalen Linguistik und Modellen der Variationslinguistik her.

In den letzten Jahren haben bereits vier dem sprachtheoretischen Erbe von Eugenio Coseriu gewidmete internationale Tagungen stattgefunden: 2007 in Aix-en-Provence (Frankreich), 2009 in Cluj (Rumänien), 2001 in Almería (Spanien) und 2013 in Udine (Italien). Wir greifen das Anliegen dieser Tagungen nicht nur auf, sondern wollen die Diskussion zum heutigen Stand der Forschungen im Umfeld der Konzepte ‛Kompetenz’, ‛Funktion’ und ‛Variation’ anregen.

Der Begriff der Kompetenz umfasst nicht nur die Kenntnis des Systems der Einzelsprache, sondern neben diesem idiomatischen Wissen auch das allgemein-sprachliche, elokutionelle Wissen und das expressive Wissen der Diskurskompetenz. Der für eine Linguistik der parole zentrale Kompetenzbegriff wurde von Coseriu – angeregt durch die Generativistik – geprägt; Sprachliches Wissen wurde von ihm im Leibnizschen Sinne als cognitio clara distincta inadaequata bestimmt, d.h. als nicht reflexiv, jedoch als deutlich und den Erkenntnisgegenstand sicher identifizierend, begründet. Hält diese Erklärung angesichts des heutigen Forschungsstands zur sprachlichen Kompetenz noch stand und wie ist der prozedurale Charakter der Sprachkompetenz erklärbar? Auch die zu historisch tradierten Normen gewordenen Diskurstraditionen werden als Bestandteil sprachlicher Kompetenz erworben und weitergegeben. Welches Erklärungspotential kommt Diskurstraditionen zu? Inwiefern sind sie als mehr oder weniger einheitliches Phänomen in verschiedenen Sprachen wiedererkennbar?

Den Anspruch der Beschreibung der Funktion sprachlicher Einheiten erheben viele Richtungen der Sprachwissenschaft, häufig ohne sich gegenseitig zur Kenntnis zu nehmen oder ein Bewusstsein der Polysemie des Wortes Funktion in der Linguistik zu entwickeln. Bei Coseriu gründen sich Funktionen auf Strukturen, darüber hinaus behandelt er aber auch funktionale Kategorien und Funktionen von Formen. Das Konzept einer ‛funktionellen Sprache’ verbindet die sprachinternen Funktionen von Strukturen der langue mit den sprachexternen, kommunikativen Funktionen der funktionellen Sprachen in der parole. Das Konzept der funktionellen Sprache ermöglichte Coseriu eine elegante Lösung für die Annahme eines Sprachsystems: nur die in sich homogene, nicht variierende funktionale Sprache stellt sich in ihrer Struktur als systematisch dar, während eine historische Sprache eine Architektur hat, in der zahlreiche funktionale Sprachen kombiniert und kombinierbar sind. Was leisten strukturell-funktionale Ansätze mit dieser Perspektive, und in welchen Richtungen wurden sie in den letzten Jahren weiterentwickelt? Welche Möglichkeiten bieten Korpora für die Beschreibung sprachlicher Funktionen? Wie hat sich die generative Linguistik durch die Einbeziehung funktionaler Kategorien verändert?

Mit seinem Modell der diatopischen, diastratischen, diaphasischen und diachronischen Variation hat Coseriu einen Ansatzpunkt für variationslinguistische Forschungen geschaffen, der vielfach aufgegriffen und weiterentwickelt wurde. Insbesondere mit der Annahme distinkter, aber als Gradata ineinandergreifender Übergangsformen zwischen Mündlichkeit und Schriftlichkeit, Nähe- und Distanzsprache erweiterten sich die Möglichkeiten einer differenzierten Betrachtung sprachlicher Variation. Auf der Objektebene sind Sprachvariation und Sprachwandel als Auswirkungen der Historizität natürlicher Sprachen identisch. Auf der Betrachtungsebene erscheint Sprachwandel als Voraussetzung für Sprachvariation oder Variation als Bedingung für künftigen Wandel. Welche Entwicklungen in der Sprachgeschichtsschreibung tragen einer Zusammenführung von Objekt- und Betrachtungsebene Rechnung? Wenn ein Idiolekt über mehrere funktionale Sprachen verfügt, ist diese Variationskompetenz dann mit dem Beherrschen mehrerer Sprachen vergleichbar? Wie ist die sprachliche Kompetenz eines mehrsprachigen Individuums zu erklären? Wie ist sprachliche Variation in Sprachkontaktsituationen zu beschreiben?

Erwünscht sind Beiträge, die theoretisch orientierte Antworten auf einige der genannten und weitere Fragen geben, die auch empirisch fundiert sein können. Es geht uns nicht primär um eine Exegese der Texte Coserius, sondern um produktive Weiterentwicklungen einer kompetenzorientierten, funktionalen und sprachliche Variation berücksichtigenden Linguistik.

Bitte teilen Sie uns ein Arbeitsthema Ihres Beitrags bis zum 31. Juli 2014 an folgende Adressen mit: hassler@uni-potsdam.nomorespam.de / stehl@uni-potsdam.nomorespam.de

Wenn wir Ihnen dann Ihre Teilnahme bestätigt und die Länge des Beitrags mitgeteilt haben, bitten wir Sie um Zusendung des genauen Themas und eines Abstracts bis zum 31.Oktober 2014.

Tagungsort

Campus am Neuen Palais der Universitat Potsdam

Arbeitssprachen

Arbeitssprachen des Kongresses sind  Deutsch, Englisch sowie romanische Sprachen.